Are You A Superhero? Strap on Your Cape and Make a Difference #kindness #foodbanks #MFRWAuthor


food banks

This morning I became a superhero.

I took the proceeds from September sales of Princess of the Light and walked over to my local food bank. The wind was brutally cold and but it didn’t dampen my spirit. I walked in the door and sat down.

There were a few people milling about and a young family sitting next to me. A woman asked me for my name and I said I was there to make a donation. The woman smiled and said to wait for the director, Brenda.

A little girl with blonde curly hair whispered to her mother loud enough for everyone to hear, “Is she here for food like us?”

I turned to see her mother shake her head. “No sweetie, she is giving money so we have something to eat.”

My heart broke for this mother and daughter as tears came to my eyes. I smiled at them.

The little girl nodded and stood up. She walked over to where I was sitting and gave me a hug. I was surprised at first but hugged her back.

“Thank you, Wonder Woman. You’re my superhero.”

Superhero to a little girl is someone who gives a few dollars so that she has dinner tonight and presents Christmas morning.

It breaks my heart but also makes me feel good. I’m someone’s superhero.

This is the whole reason why I wrote Princess of the Light. I want to be a superhero to all the little children (and their unfortunate parents) in the world!

Spread the Light!

Take a few dollars lying around and donate it to the Salvation Army, local food bank/pantry, etc. It may not seem like it will make a difference but in reality you are spreading the Light and donning your superhero cape!!!

MRS N aka N. N. Light

potlbanner2

13 thoughts on “Are You A Superhero? Strap on Your Cape and Make a Difference #kindness #foodbanks #MFRWAuthor

      1. Indeed, we are. 🙂 I often reflect upon how fortunate I am. Usually after wishing for other things which I know I cannot have. I think it helps me to remain content.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. So glad you mentioned the Salvation Army – it was the favorite charity of my grandmother, who lived to 103 and imparted a lot of wisdom to me. Thanks for this blog to remind us how lucky we are.

    Like

    1. I have always been a supporter of the Salvation Army since I was a little girl. I remember doing penny drives for them at Halloween, Christmas and Easter. They have been the backbone of helping those less fortunate for many years. Awww your grandmother sounds like a lovely lady, God bless her! 🙂 We are all lucky and I hope you have a beautiful day! 🙂

      Like

  2. Well done. As someone who has benefitted from a food bank in the past, I can say that this kind of generosity can make a big difference in the lives of others not so fortunate.

    Like

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

