#BookReview ~ A Little Elfy in Big Trouble by @BarbCaffrey #ASMSG #TuesdayBookBlog #SFF


alittleelfyinbigtrouble_med

 

Title: A Little Elfy in Big Trouble

Author: Barb Caffrey

Genre: YA Urban Fantasy/Comedy/Romance

 

Book Blurb:

Young Bruno the Elfy and Sarah, his mostly-human teenage girlfriend, are in deep trouble. Bruno’s Elfy mentor Roberto the Wise is about to be sacrificed by a Dark Elf, and Sarah’s parents have decided to help the Elf rather than the Elfy. Things look bleak and are getting worse by the minute, but Bruno and Sarah have a number of allies — human, Elfy, and ghosts — that the Dark Elf can’t possibly expect. Can young love, desperation, and great unexpected power win out despite it all?

 

My Review:

If you love Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter, you’re going to love the Elfy duology by Barb Caffrey. I read and reviewed An Elfy on the Loose in 2015 (https://princessofthelight.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/id-like-to-introduce-you-to-barbcaffrey-authorinterview-yafantasy-review/ ) and I couldn’t wait for the follow-up, A Little Elfy in Big Trouble.

When we last left Sarah and Bruno, Dennis (the Dark Elf) had captured Roberto (Bruno’s mentor and teacher) and Bruno was helpless to stop him. He and Sarah barely got away with their lives. Now, it’s up to Bruno, Sarah, Lady Keisha and a host of allies to rescue Roberto and defeat Dennis before it’s too late.

In the first book, there was a lot of world-building and laying of plot foundation but in this book, it’s filled with intense, action-filled scenes. There’s a lot going on and the author does an amazing job describing each scene. Bruno is a likable hero and his view on the human world provides comic relief. His consternation on things like a microphone and a couch make me laugh out loud.

One of my favorite minor characters in the book is Bruno’s thinking backpack. This backpack not only talks but helps Bruno in whatever way he can. I could totally picture a bunch of kids walking around with thinking backpacks. Man, I could’ve used one when I was going to school.

The climax of the story kept me on the edge of my seat and there were times when I held my breath. So many twists and turns made this book one of the best magical realism/urban fantasy books I’ve read in a long time.

The only thing that prevented me from giving it five stars was the tiny bit of info dumping post-climax. I found it took me out of the story somewhat.

The characters are what really made this a fantasy gem for me. Not only are you dealing with the main characters, you’re also encountering minor characters that I loved. The “ghost” who helps Bruno was one of my favorites as well as the thinking backpack. Each character was fleshed out and multi-faceted.

All I can say is that it was worth the wait to read this conclusion to the Elfy duology. I enjoyed all the magic, good versus evil battling, action, quirky comic relief and of course, the sweet romance between Sarah and Bruno. The author told me there might be more from Elfyverse and that makes me excited.

If you’re a fantasy fan, I highly recommend this book. You won’t be disappointed.

 

Favorite Character:

I could relate most to Sarah. She discovers her parents are teaming with the Dark Elf and she’s part-elfy. A shock to the system, especially for a teenage girl. Yet, she handles it beautifully and by the end of the book, she comes to terms with what it means to love someone and be loved without an agenda. Her empath abilities impressed me and she’s a definite role model.

 

Favorite Quote:

“I do love you. I did from the moment I saw you, even when I thought I was too young and you were too old, and that you’d probably not wait for me even if we were both Human, or both Elfy.”

 

My Rating: 4.5 stars

 

Buy it now:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B018B4699W

 

OmniLit: https://www.omnilit.com/product-alittleelfyinbigtrouble-1935228-234.html

 

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-little-elfy-in-big-trouble-barb-caffrey/1123003283?ean=2940157950910

 

Sample chapters: http://www.twilighttimesbooks.com/ElfyinBigTrouble_ch1.html

 

Barb2014Picture1

 

Author Biography:

Barb Caffrey is a writer, editor, musician, and composer. She holds two degrees and is an inveterate and omnivorous reader. Her short fiction is available in Bedlam’s EdgeHow Beer Saved the WorldFirst Contact CaféStars of DarkoverGifts of Darkover, and the forthcoming Realms of Darkover, while her poetry has been published in the Due North anthology, Joyful Online, Written Word online magazine and the Midwest Literary Review.  You can find Barb at Elfyverse.

 

Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BarbCaffrey

 

Google-Plus: http://plus.google.com/101403408003727584589

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/barb.caffrey.1

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

10 thoughts on “#BookReview ~ A Little Elfy in Big Trouble by @BarbCaffrey #ASMSG #TuesdayBookBlog #SFF

        1. I am sure your 18-year-old would enjoy it. Your seven-year-old might not understand all of it (I wouldn’t have, at her age), but she should love the thinking backpacks and the adventure.

          There’s very little swearing in this book, Don. What swearing there is tends to be in Bilre, the Elfy language, and the way Elfys swear is much different than human beings. (For example, “Get the flirb out of here” does not mean the Anglo-Saxon word for fornication. “Flirb,” for an Elfy, means this (directly from the Elfy Lexicon at the back of the book):

          flirb
          FLURB
          n. literally, a sack of flour, as used for breadmaking; commonly used to mean the
          bread made from the contents of such a sack; a loaf or sack of bread. Used figuratively in
          the phrase “get the flirb out” to imply “get my/your/our bread-sack(s) (stomach, and thus
          self) out” of some unpleasant situation. The equivalent Human phrase often incorporates
          a pejorative term in place of flirb.

          I think about the worst anyone says is “damn” or “Hells.” (Elfys see multiple Hells.) And I know there are a few references to Bruno’s teacher, Roberto, as a well-meaning ass…Roberto is clueless, but he’s also being tortured, and Bruno won’t stand for it. (Bruno sees the good in Roberto, plus, Roberto actually helped Bruno when no one else did. There’s more to that story, too, but that’s coming in the sequel trilogy, tentatively called An Elfy Abroad.)

          I hope you and your daughters will enjoy the Elfy duology. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

