What’s Your BHAG? #goals #inspiration #motivation


goals

What’s your BHAG? 

I bet you’re scratching your head, thinking I’ve joined some weird gang or something.

BHAG = Big Hairy Audacious Goal

I ran across this acronym while reading my fellow blogger, Joanne Sisco, latest blog post yesterday.

What’s my BHAG? Do I even have one?

When I do goal-setting for myself I usually create several small goals I want to meet over the course of a year. But it’s been a long time since I set a big goal for myself. In fact, the last one was when I was fifteen years old.

My BHAG was to be a published author. I achieved this more than two decades later. It was definitely a BHAG.

I thought about it for a second and then it hit me. I knew what my BHAG was going to be but then I hesitated. Could I share it with my followers? Would they think less of me? Was it even worth talking about? Insecurity wracked my brain.

Later yesterday afternoon, I got a response from Joanne. She wanted to know more. So, I made the decision to expose myself and share my BHAG.

My Big Hairy Audacious Goal is to be a Top 100 Amazon Reviewer. 

I’m working hard to establish myself as a professional book reviewer under my pen name, N. N. Light. I have a reputation of being an honest, insightful reviewer and my goal is to be an Amazon Top 100 Reviewer.

What about you? What’s your BHAG? 

Setting seemingly impossible goals allows us the step outside our comfort zone and reach for the stars. Like the quote above, to keep moving forward in life, we have to constantly make greater goals for ourselves. The impossible turns possible with a leap of faith.

I’m going for it… are you?

MRS N

15 thoughts on “What’s Your BHAG? #goals #inspiration #motivation

    1. I thought it was an odd acronym too. It was one that we used a great deal in the company where I used to work.

      *Hairy* makes me think of spiders too … and hairy spiders are better damn scary in my mind. I guess that works – a big and scary goal.
      Which makes me wonder why it wasn’t called a BSAG 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. That’s a great goal, Charles! Guilt-tripped for living out your dream? How odd but sadly, I can relate. Yeah, I think they were going for scary words and the first thing I thought of a monster covered in black hair. 🙂

      Like

  1. Thank you NN for the shout out.
    As you know, I’m very much a Go Big, Or Go Home kind of person.

    I read something yesterday that really resonated with me. I want to be the type of person who believes everything is possible … that what is difficult can be done right away, and what is impossible, may simply take a little longer.
    What a great philosophy to have!!!

    Good luck with your 2016 BHAG. I don’t know anything about being an Amazon reviewer. How will you know if you meet your goal?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh, you’re most welcome, Joanne! Your blog is the embodiment of your mantra: Go for it! and I love it. So many times, I read your posts and it inspires me to do stuff I normally would’ve never tried.

      I like, believing that everything is possible. The only thing limiting me is my fear. Such a great philosophy and one I will try to adhere to.

      Thanks for the well-wishes. I post reviews to Amazon 3-5 times a week and it will show up next to my review. Trust me, I’ll let you and all my followers know once I meet the goal. 😀 Plus, you’ll probably hear me on the DVP… I’ll be the woman jumping up and down for joy and handing out free Tim Horton’s. lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I used the BHAG years ago as a teaching moment to help my teachers at my school build their goals for their students. It was fun, and every teacher had a great one they could recite. Goals make things happen. Write ’em down. Shout ’em out!!!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

