Destiny Storm Lake Box Set 1 by @LiviaQuinn #bookreview #TuesdayBookBlog #IAN1


Storm Lake Box Set

 

Title: Storm Lake Box Set 1 (Destiny books 1-3): Destiny Paramortals (Southern Urban Fantasy)

Author: Livia Quinn

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Southern Urban Fantasy

 

Book Blurb:

Destiny… Is it Mayberry or Middle Earth?

 

On the west end lies Destiny, home of the Paramortals, supernatural beings (fae, djnn, vamps, shifters, even dragons – shh, that’s a secret) living beside humans.

I’m Tempest Pomeroy and my human job is delivering the mail. I come from a family of Tempestaeries and Djnn. Left alone to raise my brother, River, I denied my heritage. Now River’s genie bottle is missing, the males in my life are acting crrrazy, and my emotions are threatening to unleash my Tempestaerie powers whether I like it or not.

I turned to a human, Sheriff Jack Lang, a hunky ex-Navy pilot who believes he moved to a normal small town – like Mayberry – to raise his teenage daughter.

As he investigates the strange happenings in the area, it’s inevitable that Jack will be…erm…enlightened about Destiny’s and my true nature. Especially when the locals begin ‘exposing’ their special ‘aptitudes’. Jack says he wants to know everything, but once he does, will he stay and fight for us and the Paramortals, or take the first F-18 out of Middle Earth?

‘Cause there’s a lot of everything…

The boxset includes books 1-3 in the Destiny Paramortals: Storm Crazy, Cry Me a River, and Eve of Chaos

 

My Review:

Storm Crazy –

Storm Crazy EBOOK NEW 09242014 copy

 

Blurb: My name is Tempest Pomeroy, and my human job is delivering the mail in Destiny, Louisiana. I’m also a Paramortal like my family, or I’m supposed to be. If I didn’t have a few little talents, I’d think I was adopted. To say I was having a bad day would be like saying Katrina dropped a little rain on the Gulf Coast.

First, River’s amphora went missing—that’s genie bottle to you mere-mortals. Then, one of my customers had a stroke while reading me the riot act over a piece of mail, but I saved the old grouch with a zap of my Zeus juice! It was the first time I’d actually called my power on purpose, and Destiny’s hunky new sheriff almost saw me use my magic—big no-no. He showed up again when the local florist filed a complaint against me for dropping a seventy-five-pound box on his foot. Yeah, I did it, but it was kind of an accident. He put his hand where it didn’t belong, and my fingers… sorta slipped. Then, I discovered a dead body in the clubhouse and rescued my brother’s amphora from a locker, bashing it in with a Greg Norman wedge. Guess who showed up? Again. You guessed it.

Now, my brother is missing, my mother’s AWOL, and the sheriff and my ex-lover are squaring off like yard dogs staking a claim over a poodle. I am no one’s poodle. Is it any wonder I’m calling this the worst M.A.L.E day of my life?

Oh, and the sheriff? He thought he’d settled in a normal small town to raise his teenage daughter—like Mayberry?! We’ll see how that turns out… Things better settle down soon, ‘cause I’m about to go Storm Crazy.

Tempest is one of the best paranormal romance heroines I’ve ever read. She’s funny, sarcastic, hard-working and has the power to wield storms with her fingertips. Trouble seems to follow her around like a dog with a bone and it was borderline hysterical watching her talk her way out of a murder. But more than that, she’s multi-layered. She loves her brother, will do anything to find him and she’s trying not to fall in love with the sheriff. She’s got enough trouble and the forecast says it’s going to rain men around Tempest.

This is a good book one to a series. I enjoyed the minor characters as much as I liked the major characters. There’s plenty of conflict and the paranormal aspect to the story was original.

There were two things I didn’t like: abrupt ending and a lot of characters to keep track of. As many of you know, I don’t like abrupt endings and if I didn’t have this box set with the next two books in it, my rating would’ve been lower. There are a lot of characters to keep track of but I understand why the author did it.

Caution: Read the books in order

Storm Crazy is filled with conflict, humor, Southern charm and romance. I loved the chemistry between Tempest and Jack (sheriff). If you’re a fan of Paranormal Romance, this is a must-read!

 

Favorite Character:

I loved Tempest! She’s the perfect strong fantasy heroine who harnesses the power of the weather. Her one-liners made me laugh hard. She has inner insecurities that only made me love her more. Her inner dialogue really makes the book enjoyable.

 

Favorite Quote:

“Think of something else—River, on his first day as a Djnni, Phoebe on my ninth birthday, Dutch… I stifled a whimper. I would not lose it in front of this man. He’d already seen me in too many compromising situations today. It would be one embarrassment too many.” ~Tempest

 

My Rating:  4 stars

 

Buy it now:

Available at your favorite retailer: http://liviaquinn.com/books.html

 

Cry Me a River NEW EBOOK Flattened copy

Cry Me a River –

Blurb: As the Paramoon approaches, time is running out for River, and the attraction that was growing between me and Sheriff Jack Lang derailed after he got his first glimpse of my Paramortal “talents” – a few measly bolts of lightning aimed at his—in his general direction. In the course of the investigation we’ve gone from attraction to suspicion, support to friendship, romance to oh-my-god-get-away-from-me revulsion. Jack says he wants to know “everything”. After we answer all his questions, he’ll either join us or grab his daughter and take the first jet out of Middle Earth.

He might help me save my brother and discover the whereabouts of my parents, but he probably won’t still want to take me to the Mardi Gras ball, once he knows “everything”. There’s a lot of “everything”.

Book two picks up from the moment book one ends and I liked that. It’s a continuation of the same story. River is still missing and time is running out. Sheriff Jack just found out who Tempest (and many of her friends/family) is. Whoa, paramortals! Though to be fair, Jack doesn’t have much time to adjust to this news.

“You in or out?” asks Dylan (who changed into a big bear-like creature before Jack’s eyes).

Jack’s in and the more he finds out, the more he falls in love with Tempest. He wants to protect her and help her find River before it’s too late.

This is one roller coaster ride of a book! The author does a fantastic job weaving romance and action; I couldn’t read fast enough. I loved the characters and the plot was riveting. One bombshell after another hits Tempest and Jack but instead of driving them apart, it draws them closer together.

What will happen? There’s a new character that appears at the very end and I can’t tell you more other to say my mouth dropped at her showing up.

I read this book in one sitting and started reading book three right away. You must read the books in order.

Gripping action, complex characters and a plot that wouldn’t let me go, Cry Me a River is a must-read! Onto book three…

 

Favorite Character:

Jack. I loved how he didn’t abandon Tempest in her moment of crisis. I mean, I wouldn’t have blamed him if he did. What man would stick around after a woman threw bolts of lightning very near his crotch. giggles Jack is an honorable man and even though he’s in over his head, he’s falling in love with Tempest. She’s his storm witch and when the two of them get together, it blasts them both into outer space.

Favorite Quote:

“Sweetheart, are you okay?” Call me crazy, but it seemed I could feel her body vibrating from three feet away. ~ Jack

 

My Rating:  5+ stars

 

Eve of Chaos EBOOK 11192014

 

Eve of Chaos –

Blurb: “You vill meet a dahk dangerrous strangah…”

…Aurora had predicted at the Mardi Gras ball, and as if someone left their Swords of War videogame on “share” in a parallel universe, the Dark Knight had walked in. Conor de Sept Flambe´ with the distinctive leathery tattoos spanning his muscular shoulders and magnificent flashing swords. “Where did he get those swords?” Montana drooled. He’d offered to prepare her for the Chaos, twenty-four hours when many Paramortals would lose their power.

With crazies coming out of the woodwork, Paramortals losing their abilities, personalities going AWOL, Sheriff Lang needs to know who will be left standing with him when the Para-moon begins. If Flambe´ is what Jack thinks he is, Destiny might have a chance. If not, they’ll be in deep… trouble.

It’s the night before Chaos (24 hour period where many Paramortals lose their powers and are weakened humans and where the bad/evil paranormal creatures lay waste to Storm Lake and everyone in it) and our gang of Paramortals are starting to act oddly. They’re slowly losing their powers and evil is infiltrating Storm Lake.

Sheriff Jack is trying to get a handle on things, mostly trying to protect those he cares about: his daughter and Tempest. There’s a new player in town (psst, a dragon) and Jack needs to know if he is good or evil.

But in all actuality, this book is all about Montana. Half vampire, she’s got special abilities and she’s drooling over Conor de Sept Flambé. She’s a strong female warrior who protects the weak and Conor is all-warrior. Sparks fly and these two are perfectly matched for each other.

At the end of the day, Jack is frightened and he doesn’t know if anyone will survive the Para-moon. Tempest worries him most of all because she is shivering in the cool air (and she never gets cold) and he is helpless to stop it. All he can do is hold her close… and pray she makes it.

 

Favorite Character:

Montana. What a woman! She’s the ultimate female warrior and kicks ass! Think Buffy on steroids. She’s a close friend to Tempest and when she lays eyes on Conor at the Mardi Gras ball, she’s smitten. His swords appeal to her warrior side and his quiet strength melts her insides. She’s used to taking control but Conor wields all control. They’re a fantastic couple and I loved the two of them together. Foreplay = sparring in the dark. Loved it!

 

Favorite Quote:

His chin dropped, both eyes flashed then reduced to gold slits, as they’d done in his dragon form, but the heat receded when he got her true meaning. “This is not a carnival, and I am not your carousel horsey.” ~ Conor

 

My Rating:  5 stars

 

Livia Quinn Head Shot_M9A0603 square sml copy

 

Author Biography:

Hi, I’m Livia Quinn. With a life long fascination (read that: phobia) of storms, and living in Louisiana where severe weather is a part of life, it was only natural that it would play a big part in my world. The farther east you go the more weather you see and the less paranormal the stories are. But that doesn’t mean there’s no magic. What would life be like without a little magic?

Visit the world of Storm Lake on my website and view a glossary of terms, character list, map and a tourism brochure. But please note: Storm Lake exists only in my fertile mind.

 

Social Media Links:

Sign up for my newsletter at http://liviaquinn.com  to be included in prizes and news and see the Storm Lake pages to view a map of Storm Lake as well as a Glossary of terms, Character list and Paramortal language.

 

Email liviaquinnwrites@gmail.com

 

Website: http://liviaquinn.com

 

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/liviaquinnwrites

 

Twitter     http://www.twitter.com/LiviaQuinn

 

Pinterest http://pinterest.com/liviaquinn

 

Independent Author Network http://www.independentauthornetwork.com/livia-quinn.html

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

One thought on “Destiny Storm Lake Box Set 1 by @LiviaQuinn #bookreview #TuesdayBookBlog #IAN1

  1. Hi, Mrs. N
    Thanks for reviewing the Storm Lake Box set. I appreciate the fact that you are honest in your review and as most of my readers have told me, they love the series once they get past the abrupt ending of book one. What can I say? It was my second book ever, but I hope I redeemed myself on the succeeding books. It is a continuing story about recurring characters, like Destiny meets Days of Our Lives, 🙂

    And now Storm Crazy is Free!! at all bookstores, so it’s like getting book one and book two for the price of one. I’m hard at work on book 5, temporary title, Take these Broken Wings – more of Dylan and Kat, and Jack and Tempe and the other Paramortals. I hope your readers will dive into Destiny.

    I’ll send a free copy of the ebook box set to one commenter on February 23rd!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

