Molly’s Misadventures by @DenaEHaggerty #bookreview #RomanticComedy


Molly's Misadventures

 

Title: Molly’s Misadventures

Author: D. E. Haggerty

Genre: Romantic Comedy

 

Book Blurb:

I’m having the suckiest day ever. First, my father, aka Mr. Grumpy Pants, calls to say his nurse just walked out on him. Likely story. I rush home to pack, only to walk in on my husband getting it on with his younger, skanky secretary. Unfortunately, my quick weekend trip home to fix Dad’s problems turns into a stay of a few weeks. Luckily, I’ve got Danny, the neighbor boy I’ve had a crush on since I was a dorky, braces-wearing, nose-buried-in-a-book teenager, and a brand-spanking new blog to keep my mind off things. Before I know it, I’m writing product reviews of vibrators and getting questioned by a store rent-a-cop at the world’s worst date ever. All while trying to figure out how to take things with Danny to the next level. Not to complicate things or anything, but my boss decides to give me an ultimatum—come back in four weeks or don’t come back at all. How in the world did my life get so complicated?

mollys-misadventures_teaser-2

 

My Review:

I first discovered D. E. Haggerty when I read her Grey Haired Knitting Detectives cozy mysteries. When I found out she’d written a romantic comedy, I knew I would be in for a treat. What I didn’t know was that I would develop a side-ache from laughing so hard.

Molly’s having a bad day. She gets a call from her father in Florida telling her his nurse just up and left. But that’s nothing compared to walking in her front door to find her husband buck naked and screwing his skanky secretary. I love that word, skanky.

“It’s not what it looks like,” hubby wails.

Yeah, likely story. * rolls eyes *

Great beginning to a romantic comedy and I was hooked.

Molly flies down to Florida to a spend only a few days with her father but things get complicated real quick. Her dad is a horrific patient, and Molly’s running out of options.

But things perk up when she sees her high school crush (next door neighbor) Danny. Molly and Danny reacquaint themselves and sparks fly. He challenges her to start writing and before she can say no, her girlfriend starts a blog (on her behalf). Things move quickly and Molly must decide if she can put on her big girl panties and take the leap (in both love and life) or will she be too scared?

This romantic comedy is hysterical from start to finish and there were so many times when I was rooting for Molly. Go for it! Take the plunge! Kiss him, already! To say that I became a part of the story is an understatement.

I loved everything about Molly, from her insecurities to putting on her “big girl panties” to going on a lot of first dates to the ladies in her blog class, and she reminded me myself when I first took the plunge and started my own blog. She’s the real deal and her inner dialogue made me laugh out loud.

Danny is a sweet, funny, down-to-earth guy for Molly and sparks fly between the two. I was rooting for them as a couple from the beginning. I swooned, laughed, sighed happily and loved where he took her for their first date.

While this is a fun, flirty romantic comedy, D. E. Haggerty deals with some very real issues (infidelity, divorce, taking care of an elderly parent, career change, taking on your life-long dream, single parent, love, etc.). She balances the serious issues many of my generation faces with humor, wacky situations and grace.

One of the best books I’ve read this year! Don’t hesitate: buy and read this book. Who knows, it may inspire you to chase after your dreams!

 

Favorite Character:

Molly. I loved her as a character because she is so much fun! She was a delight to read and was honest to a fault. She told it like it was and there was an immediate connection between myself and Molly. I could relate to her on so many levels and I wish she was one of my friends.

 

Favorite Quote:

“All I know is that every man in the universe, even a hot millionaire who happens to be a good guy as well, pales in comparison with Danny. Oh boy, I’m in trouble.” ~ Molly

 

My Rating:  5+ stars

 

Buy it now:

Amazon

Smashwords

Barnes and Noble

Kobo

D E Haggerty

 

Author Biography:

I grew up reading everything I could get my hands on from my mom’s Harlequin romances to Nancy Drew to Little Women. When I wasn’t flipping pages in a library book, I was penning horrendous poems, writing songs no one should ever sing, or drafting stories which have thankfully been destroyed. College and a stint in the U.S. Army came along, robbing me of free time to write and read, although I did manage every once in a while to sneak a book into my rucksack between rolled up socks, MRIs, t-shirts, and cold weather gear. A few years into my legal career, I was exhausted, fed up, and just plain done. I quit my job and sat down to write a manuscript, which I promptly hid in the attic after returning to the law. Another job change, this time from lawyer to B&B owner and I was again fed up and ready to scream I quit, which is incredibly difficult when you own the business. Thus, I shut the B&B during the week and in the off-season and started writing. Several books later I find myself in Istanbul writing full-time.

 

Social Media Links:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Amazon

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

3 thoughts on “Molly’s Misadventures by @DenaEHaggerty #bookreview #RomanticComedy

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

