Meet Author Carey Decevito #AuthorInterview #Romance #EroticRomance @ItalRT4u


If you love erotic romance, you’re in for a treat! I have the pleasure of introducing you to Carey Decevito, romance author extraordinaire. She agreed to free up some time for an interview. She dishes the dirt about her latest release as well as some valuable writing advice. I sure learned a lot and you will too. Take it away, Carey: 

 

What do you consider to be your best accomplishment?

My kids. Sure, I could pick any one of my works and I’d be crazy to say that they weren’t up there on my list but my kids and family come first. They’re a reflection of who I am as a parent; the best version of me. Without them, I’m not sure I’d feel as well-accomplished or as happy. They’re my world and everything I do, it’s with them in mind.

 

Have you always liked to write?

I can’t remember a time where I didn’t. While others were about doodling, scribbling on their binders, notebooks or pieces of paper, I was the one coming up with verses to songs, lines for a poem, writing up plays and stories.

 

Do you read your reviews? Do you respond to them, good or bad? Do you have any advice on how to deal with the bad?

Of course I read my reviews! I’d be crazy not to. Honestly, I love to read what my readers think, whether good or bad. I view it as a way to better my craft. Have I responded to any, not really but I have flagged some due to spoiler content. If a potential reader reads the reviews to gauge their interest in my books, I rather they have a choice to pick up a spoiler instead of things be revealed before delving into the read.

Dealing with the negative reviews is a bit tough. I’ve had a few and it’s easier said than done not to get down on yourself, particularly if you’ve requested that reviewer to read your work. Truth is, not all reviews are by professional reviewers and everyone is entitled to their opinion. What I do is read them and let the content simmer for a bit. Then I typically evaluate where I’ve gone wrong for that one reader. It might be a matter of content, of writing style, the POV, and more often than not, the genre. To be honest, as a reader who is shopping for something new, I’ll take a look at the reviews. I’m guilty of purchasing – and enjoying immensely I might add – books that have had less than stellar reviews. In reality, everyone will get those negative comments at one point or another, no matter how well crafted their piece of literature is. I guess it’s a matter of rising above those bad reviews and persevere. After all, we can’t please everyone, right?

 

Is this your first book? How many books have you written prior (if any?)

Almost Forgotten is the second of my current series entitled The Broken Men Chronicles but it is also my third published work. I do have an extensive list of other novels I’ve written but as to if they will get published, it still remains to be seen.

 

What are you working on now? What is your next project?

At the moment, I’m working on the release of my third book in The Broken Men Chronicles series entitled Play Me to Infinity which is due to release on March 29, 2016. I’m also working on tweaking my manuscript for Book four as well as writing the last half of Book five all the while coming up with new characters, new plots and storylines for new works. Yes, my life is far from dull!

 

If you had a superpower, what would it be?

The power to teleport! I want to be able to think of a place and…BEAM ME UP SCOTTY! I lose so much time getting from place A to B, all the way to Z in a day that I’d love that power. Also, it would come in handy during these Canadian winters of mine to get my butt somewhere warmer. Something tells me winters would be a lot more bearable!

 

What secret talents do you have?

If I told you, they wouldn’t be a secret now, would they? Hahaha! Well, it’s not a secret with my family and friends but I kick butt at the drums in Rock Band.

 

Where is one place you want to visit that you haven’t been before?

I’d love to visit Italy. Find some small town, perhaps an area with a beach, if not, then lots of land where I could bask in the sun, the food, the various wines, not to mention their easy-going lifestyle. I can only dream of the stories I’d be able to come up with. Seeing as I do have an Italian heritage, I’d most likely take the opportunity to tour the entire country and do more research on my family roots too.

 

What’s on your bucket list (things to do before you die)?

This list you speak has the potential of being lengthy. To name a few, here goes: write a best-seller, meet some of the folks I’ve had the pleasure of working with on my books, travel the world, swim with dolphins.

 

If you could have any name in the world, what would you choose?

I know everyone wishes that there’s something about themselves that they could change but my name isn’t one of them. I couldn’t pick another name for myself even if I tried.

 

What book do you wish you could have written?

As much as I have a long list of authors I adore, I’m happy to say that the only books I wish to write are those that contain my own stories. After all, I love what I do and I do it first and foremost for myself. Should anyone else enjoy my works, then I can say that I’m successful.

 

How important are names to you in your books? Do you choose the names based on liking the way it sounds or the meaning?

I usually choose my character names based on how they sound. I like names that can be shortened into nicknames but it isn’t a must. There have been times where I’ve used a name based on meaning for a particular character. For example, parents naming their son Axle because they were fans of the artist.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Hopefully writing fulltime. As much as I’ve loved working outside of the home – and some jobs were a total blast – I’d love to be able to provide for my family both in presence and financially. Seriously, who wouldn’t want to turn their hobby into a full time gig? It would be a phenomenal way to show myself as well as my loved ones that dreams can be achieved if you put the right amount of effort into things.

 

What writing advice do you have for other aspiring authors?

Get over that fear of yours! If you’re anything like me, you write for yourself first; pouring the proverbial blood, sweat and tears into every piece of your works. It’s no wonder the thought of uploading your story on some free amateur site, submitting your latest manuscript for a writing contest, or entertaining the idea of querying a publisher/agent, or even maybe pursuing self-publishing can be daunting! It’s that fear of what everyone else will think, that possible rejection, that gets to you. It’s what stops you.

If you’re writing to strike it rich, then forget it! Truthfully, we’re not all cut out to write and publish. We’re not all going to be a best seller, but ultimately, if you love writing, just write.

 

If you didn’t like writing books, what would you do for a living?

If I wasn’t writing books, I’d be reading them. My latest full-time job was working for the Canada Council for the Arts in their Writing and Publishing Section. I absolutely loved being surrounded by the abundance of great Canadian literature. I’d most likely go back there or see about getting into a publishing house to do editing, promoting, that kind of stuff. I’m happiest when using my smarts and creativity.

 

Are you a plotter or a pantster?

I have to say that I’m a little bit of both to be honest. I’ll usually get a vague idea on a story and from there, I’ll start plotting. How do I want to introduce this or these characters? What’s the underlying problem? How do they get over that hurdle? Or do they? All of this is typically done in my head. The important details about my characters do get written down though.

There are times I will plot things out in more detail in a notebook, especially when I need to get really specific with a subject, such as a disease, legal/medical jargon, things of that nature.

Once I have my main ideas pin-pointed and written down, however, game’s on! In other words, this is where I fly by the seat of my pants. I start to write, let everything unfold and pour onto my laptop screen; from my main plot points to my filler pieces. Just think of it as though someone gave you the beginning, middle and ending to a story (here’s plotting part) and then they told you to write a story around all of that information (cue the pantster!)

 

What is your best marketing tip?

There’s no such thing as too much marketing! There is, however, such a thing as dedicating too much or not enough time toward it. My recommendation, hire some of that work out. Rally friends and/or family members to help spread the word for your latest release. Ask other author friends to post on their blog, Facebook pages, or Twitter account. And if you’re beyond that “beginner” phase, make sure to keep track of where you’re advertising, the price-points, as well as the success or fail rates of that advertiser. Remember, just because something worked well or didn’t work at all once, doesn’t mean that it won’t the next time. Every business has its lulls as well as its peaks. And here’s another thing I’ve discovered, figure out a way to make things fun, exciting and that also sets you apart from other authors; whether it be a contest, draw, an announcement. This goes a long way to gain a following and you never know which of your followers might come through for you with boosting your viewership in the end.

 

What is your least favorite part of the publishing / writing process?

Every bit of writing and publishing is fun but if I have to pick one process that I like the least, editing would be it. I would rather spend my time writing something new, working on covers, teasers, banners, promoting and formatting books than having to re-read my manuscript twenty times (trust me, I have). It’s why I do the essential portion and then I have an editor, whom I adore, to help me out with that. Thanks Marissa (from Pub-Craft)!

 

Do you have a favorite spot to write? What is it?

I’d have to say my main floor’s sitting room even though I have a beautiful desk and a comfortable office chair in my basement office nook. With the dent in that couch cushion, I’m sure my husband wishes I would move back to the office nook. I love being surrounded by my family as well as the sun shinning through my picture window. That way, I feel included in the goings-on of my family, remain productive, and don’t feel like I’ve been cooped up in a dungeon all day.

 

Is there a certain type of scene that’s harder for you to write than others? Love? Action? Racy?

I guess it’s a good thing I like to push my own writing boundaries because that means I’ve tried a lot of genres, not to mention types of scenes within those genres.

You’ll laugh because the scenes that are hardest for me to write are actually racy scenes. Hell, after four years of writing erotic themed novels, I still blush! But it’s the way a scene takes shape, as well as the where. Have you ever stopped to wonder why it is that characters in a book seem to excel at sex in a wild acrobatic fashion? I find it hilarious because if you were to translate that into everyday life, “someone’s going to get hurt” usually comes to my mind! I’m guilty of writing the stand-up shower scene where the woman has her legs wrapped around the man’s head and the man is standing as he delights in her womanly bits, but I have to say, if you’re a regular Jane or Joe, this scene should come with a warning should you try and replicate it in real life. Some things to take into advisement…how about the ceiling height? Or better yet, how slippery when wet the bottom of that tub or shower stall might be! Hahaha!

 

Almost Forgotten2

 

Title: Almost Forgotten

Author: Carey Decevito

Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance

 

Book Blurb:

Jake had it all: money, women, and great looks. He was happy. Well, he thought he was.

Then, a series of women and a ghost from his past made him re-evaluate everything.

Why had she come back? Why was she standing in his firm’s boardroom with his opposing counsel? And the burning question – why did he give a damn after fifteen years?

She had broken his heart all those years ago, and Jake chose to live the life of a bachelor from there on out. Along with his fast-paced career, he maintained a fast-paced social life. It’s what worked for him. At least he’d convinced himself it did.

The loneliness of his large home the minute the housekeeper clocked-out and the women warming his bed deserted him left him wanting. Could he get what so many of his friends already had: the woman, the family, the house with the white picket fence? Maybe. But just because he desired those things, things he’d sworn off ages ago, doesn’t mean they were destined for him.

One thing was for sure; with Danica back in town, Jake’s life was never going to be the same again…

 

Exclusive Excerpt:

I eyed her from across Fairfax, an after-work institution for the upwardly mobile, knowing that in moments, I’d catch her attention.  As suspected, while perusing the male population inside the establishment, her gaze froze on me.

I flashed my come hither smile.  Some called it a panty remover; others have attested that it made their knees weak.  Regardless of its effect, the women I set my sights on wound up vying for my attention in varying degrees.  With a rosy tint to her cheeks, this particular one was quick to shift her glance.

I had no doubt that I looked good in my designer Armani, minus the claustrophobic tie I had worn earlier in the day.

As if she couldn’t help herself, her eyes connected with mine, again.

Hook line and sinker.

Turning, I nodded to the bartender and indicated my desire for another drink by twirling the ice in my empty tumbler.  It had been one hell of a week and I was in dire need of some down-time.

The sure things in my life since high school have been good money, an abundance of women, and great sex.  For the most part, all three came easily enough.

I wasn’t always like this, you know.  As with anyone else who leads a somewhat fulfilled yet semi-dysfunctional life, something happened to shape me into the man that I am today.  Do I really want to rehash the details with you right now?

No.

Will I?

Stick around and you’ll find out.

As predicted, the feisty-looking redhead donning a black mini dress headed in my direction.  I tilted some of my premium scotch back and felt the burn as the liquor slid down my throat.

My cock took notice of the sway to her hips, the length of her slender legs, and the brief but sultry look she’d given me with those bright emerald eyes of hers.  I followed her progress with a neutral expression, assessing every bit of the vixen that I could, giving nothing of her effects away.

I wonder if she’s a natural redhead.

She came to a stop beside me, shifting so she faced the bar, but not before giving me another quick once-over and a shy smile.

Boy did I love a wonderful combination of coy and assertive in a woman.  And this one pulled it off with perfection.

Noticing the twinkle in her eyes, I knew she held secrets that begged to be discovered under that shy façade of hers.  As she licked her red lips, I knew that I could know all of those secrets if I played my cards right.  In fact, I was so certain that she would be the cap to the end of my miserable week that I was already playing out how she would look with that sinful mouth of hers wrapped around my cock while I fucked her face.

I swallowed the last of my scotch and turned to her.  “Out alone?”

She waited to catch the bartender’s attention and huffed when he once again passed by her for a duo of men at the other end of the bar.  “More like ditched.  Can’t a girl get a drink around here?”  She didn’t seem too disturbed about being left to her own devices, however.  “Friend bailed out to spend the night with their boyfriend.”

“Hmm.”  I trailed my fingers across the top of her hand which lay on the bar.  Goose-bumps spread over her forearm.  Swallowing hard, her eyes met mine in brief shock before they cast themselves downward to watch the progress of my digits.  “That’s a shame, honey.  A beautiful woman like you shouldn’t be left alone.  I guess I have her to thank for gaining your company.”

She lifted her head and I saw her cheeks pinken.  “It’s him.”

“Excuse me?”

“My friend.”  Her lips quirked up.  “He ditched me for his boyfriend.”

My jaw dropped at the unexpected announcement and her husky laugh at my reaction told me I hadn’t recovered fast enough from the shock.  Her laugh was something else though, as I felt the twitch in my crotch for the second time in under fifteen minutes.

Giving up on her drink request, she turned to face me, looked down again at my playing fingers on her hand before gazing up at me and biting that plump bottom lip of hers.

The wheels were turning in that pretty head of hers.  When that sexy grin spread across her face, there was no doubt in my mind on how my evening was going to end.  I had her right where I wanted her.

“Can I get you a drink?” I asked, my fingers continuing their trail up her forearm.

“I’d like that.”

 

Buy Links:

Kindle US – http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B019H6VJSE

GooglePlay –

https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Carey_Decevito_Almost_Forgotten?id=vs1ECwAAQBAJ

 

iTunes – https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/almost-forgotten/id1070919289?ls=1&mt=11

 

Kobo – https://store.kobobooks.com/en-ca/ebook/almost-forgotten-4

 

Nook – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/almost-forgotten-carey-decevito/1118425413?ean=2940045611039

 

Smashwords – https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/402301

 

Carey Decevito_authorpic

 

Author Biography:

Born and raised in small town Northern Ontario, Canada, Carey Decevito has always had a penchant for reading and writing.

More than a decade later, with weeks of sleepless nights, where exhaustion settled into her everyday existence, she finally gave in and put pen to paper (more like fingers to keyboard!) She submitted to the dreams that plagued her. And the rest, as they say, is history!

A member of the RWA, Carey Decevito enjoys spending time with family and friends, the outdoors, travelling, and playing tourist in Canada’s National Capital region. When life gets crazy, she seeks respite through her writing and reading. If all else fails, she knows there’s never a dull moment with her two daughters, her goofy husband, and cat who she swears is out to get her.

 

Social Media Links:

Website: http://careydecevito.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ItalRT4u

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/carey.writes

Twitter: http://twitter.com/ItalRT4u

 

 

 

One thought on “Meet Author Carey Decevito #AuthorInterview #Romance #EroticRomance @ItalRT4u

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

