Failure: Life’s Most Important Teacher #inspiration #affirmations #writers


failure Henry Ford

Say the word failure to a group of people and watch their expressions.  Most will cringe, some will say that everyone fails and one will smile.

Failure is not something that we, as human beings, are proud of.  In fact, we hate the word.  We wish there was no such thing as failure.

But without failure, there is no growth.  Without growth, we cannot have wisdom.  Without wisdom, we cannot be successful.

See where I’m going with this?

As a writer, I have had to deal with a lot of failure.  It’s the nature of the business.  You try something and fail.  No one bites and you go back to the drawing board to try again.  Princess of the Light started out at over 145,000 words.  It got edited, edited and edited some more.  Certain characters, words and scenes were cut away.  The end result was something truly beautiful.

Did it hurt that my first attempt was a failure?  

Sure!  It hurt to kill off my darlings, as Stephen King opines.  But with each one, I grew wiser as a person as well as a writer.  I learned less is more and that was a hard lesson for me to learn.  But I’m wiser and am on my way to success.

Are you dealing with something and are afraid of failure?

Instead of being afraid of failure, flip your perspective and think of it as an opportunity to grow in order to gain wisdom.  You’ll be amazed by how less failure hurts when you have this new perspective.  Life is filled with challenges and with each failure, you are one step closer to success!

How do you deal with failure? Share in the comments below.

MRS N, the Writer

One thought on “Failure: Life’s Most Important Teacher #inspiration #affirmations #writers

  1. I’m wondering why that one person is smiling.

    For myself, my mood drops for a day or two after a failure. I tend to obsess a bit too. Eventually, I try to grab some lesson from it and then continue. That’s really all one can do. If you can’t push on in the same direction then find another route.

    Like

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

