Lesson For the Day: Your Mistakes Do Not Define You #inspiration #affirmations


Mistakes

Everyone makes mistakes. As human beings, we are bound to make mistakes.  

I had a friend of mine ask me the other day if I regretted self-publishing. I shook my head and said no.

“Don’t you feel less of a writer? Don’t you wish you had been published by one of the big five?”

I paused for a full minute before replying.

“No,” I started. “The publishing industry is changing and more people are self-publishing than ever before. They’re taking creative control over their book(s) and it’s empowering. Sure, it’s more work to publish and market your book but it’s worth it.”

We then moved onto other topics but it got me thinking.  There is this stigma about self-published authors, small publishers are closing their doors (blaming the self-publishing market) and it’s a pity. No matter what avenue a book takes, it should deserve the same opportunities.

Equal opportunity reading, that’s my policy as a reader.

As a writer, I have made several mistakes. Do I regret them? Sure I do but they don’t define me as a person or as a writer.  Each mistake taught me a valuable lesson and I’m a better writer for it.

You’ve make mistakes too. Don’t let your mistakes define you!  You are a beautiful person with the Light shining within you. Learn from your mistakes and don’t repeat them.

MRS N

4 thoughts on “Lesson For the Day: Your Mistakes Do Not Define You #inspiration #affirmations

  1. Thanks for the sentiment in this post. My day had been somewhat ruined by a mistake I made (which someone rudely pointed out to me), but your sentiments here really helped me put it into perspective and label it a learning experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry you had to go through that. Trust me, I’ve been there. A mistake is simply that, a mistake. If you learn from it and try not to repeat it, then you’re ahead of much of the population. I’ve made a lot of mistakes and when I look back on each one, I learned a valuable lesson. Thank you for commenting and I hope you have a wonderful rest of your day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! My first reaction when I make a mistake is to blame myself. But when I step back and look at it from a different viewpoint (usually after the fact), I realize it’s all good. Thanks for the comments, Catherine, and have a great day!

      Like

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

