Alone in the Wind by Judy Bruce Will Stay With You #bookreview #books #mystery


Alone-2

 

Title: Alone in the Wind

Author: Judy Bruce

Genre: Mystery, Suspense

 

Book Blurb:

In the second installment of the misadventures of Megan Docket, she learns of the investigation of meth dealing in the area. A gut feeling forces her to question the motives of a DEA agent residing in the area. As she snoops on the agent, she becomes protective of a young teen and a young autistic, who works at the local diner. The meth use in the community causes the deaths of two friends and ensnares the local residents in the drug trade. Meanwhile, discord with her husband Brian creates problems at home. When the DEA agent and the chief of police commit murder, Megan uncovers the truth. After she impulsively commits revenge against the men, it blackens her soul and plunges her into a personal hell. Burdened with grief over the community tragedies and her own guilt, she seeks peace and redemption. This is the author’s second book in her Wind Series. The first book in the series is ‘Voices in the Wind.’

 

My Review:

Megan is back in the second Wind series by Judy Bruce and in this book, she’s put through the ringer as she tries to uncover one crime after another. The meth trade has infiltrated the small town, killing two of Megan’s friends. Bent on revenge, Megan does the unthinkable in the name of justice. Now, faced with marital problems and her immense guilt, Megan is left wondering if she is destined to be Alone in the Wind.

 

This was a difficult book for me to read. The writing was superb and the emotions Judy Bruce evoked in my soul were genuine. It’s the subject of drugs and infidelity that makes this hard for me to read. Bruce takes you inside the world of Meth, from the DEA to the police to the dealers and finally to the family of users. I was caught up in it and it makes me question everything I thought I knew of meth.

The marital discourse between Megan and Bryan was also hard to read. As a happily-married woman, I hate the thought of infidelity. One act can ruin the lives of many. If you don’t want to be with the one you’re with, leave. That’s my personal opinion so please don’t take offense.

 

I didn’t like this as well as I liked Voices in the Wind but I applaud Bruce for delving into serious topics under the guise of fiction. She brings many things to light, including PTSD and autism, which need to be talked about. Megan’s reactions to circumstances appear realistic, although it was hard for me to relate to her the closer we came to the climax.

 

If you like crime fiction and/or suspense, I highly recommend this book and this author! Bruce weaves a mystery full of interesting characters and makes you think.

 

My Rating:  4 stars

 

Buy it now:

Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Alone-Wind-Judy-Bruce-ebook/dp/B01FE8BM7C

Barnes and Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/alone-in-the-wind-judy-bruce/1122779758?ean=9781576385111

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27045055-alone-in-the-wind

 

Judy Bruce

 

Author Biography:

Hello, book fans. I am the mother of two, the wife of one, and the sibling of three (formerly four). I also blog at https://heyjoood.com  where I ramble about favorite books and movies and personal topics–my younger sister Janet who died of brain cancer, and my autistic son Danny who takes quirky to an amazing level. Aside from writing novels, I have contributed various works on law, history, and social issues. I am a Kirkus Reviews Featured Author, and a member of Goodreads, the Authors Guild, the Cassell Network of Writers, and the American Film Institute. Yet my true love, apart from my family, is fiction—writing and reading it.

 

Social Media Links:

Website http://www.judybruce.com/

 

Blog http://www.heyjoood.com/

 

Facebook: You can find her on her public Facebook site (try Judy Bruce 1481)

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

