It’s Not Your Journey by @BekaLombardo is a Must-Read! #Memoir #bookreview #MentalIllness


It's Not Your Journey

 

Title: It’s Not Your Journey

Author: Rebecca Lombardo

Genre: Memoir

 

Book Blurb:

In her first published work, Rebecca Lombardo collects her internationally followed blog into the pages of It’s Not Your Journey. Rebecca shares her struggles with bipolar disorder, depression, anxiety, self-injury, and recovery from a suicide attempt.

 

 

Rebecca candidly reveals her real and raw feelings on these subjects, as well as addressing other issues that have contributed to her downward spiral and eventual climb out of her own pit of despair. Issues such as the loss of her mother to lung cancer, the death of her brother, abandonment from friends and family members due to her hospitalization, and more.

 

 

At 42 years of age and happily married for nearly 14 years, Rebecca can finally say that she is on her way to reaching her dream. Not only does she hope to help people that are struggling with depression, she hopes to help everyone realize that you are never too old to find your voice.

 

My Review:

Rebecca Lombardo is one of the bravest people I have had the pleasure to meet. Not does she battle her mental illness daily but she’s put into words her struggle with depression. I must warn you, this is not a happily ever after story of a woman who battled mental illness and is now peacefully happy like Laura Ingalls Wilder running in a field (Little House on a Prairie); it’s a constant struggle. She doesn’t pull any punches and each chapter is filled with stark truth and pain.

 

Rebecca talks about her family, unconditional love from her husband (who saved her life in my opinion), doctors, how the darkness sucks out the light, cutting, depression and coping mechanisms. Her heart and soul are splashed across the pages, which only makes this book a captivating read. Not since reading Girl Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen, have I read a memoir so gut-wrenchingly candid.

 

Mental illness is a very real medical condition and we, as a society, need to treat it with the same respect as we do cancer. Advocates like Rebecca, bring the realities to light and I, for one, am grateful. This is a must-read and beautifully written!

 

Favorite Quote from the Author:

This book is about MY JOURNEY with Bipolar Disorder, Depression, Anxiety, Self-Injury, and more. This is not a text book, nor is it your journey. I am not a professional, rather an advocate that hopes her story can help those going through similar struggles

 

Your experiences may be entirely different.  I just ask that you respect that I was in a very difficult situation, and in a lot of pain when these pages were written.  I may not have always made the right decisions, or the decisions you would have made.  But, I did was I had to for me at that time.  All I ask is that you please have some respect for my journey.

 

My Rating:  5+ stars

 

Buy it now:

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Its-Your-Journey-Rebecca-Lombardo/dp/0692509739

iTunes https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/its-not-your-journey/id1065377217?mt=11

Indigo https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/its-not-your-journey/9780692509739-item.html

Barnes and Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/its-not-your-journey-rebecca-lombardo/1122852005

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26176772-it-s-not-your-journey

 

Rebecca Lombardo

 

Author Biography:

I’m 43 years old and have been very happily married for 15 years. I live in Michigan with my fantastic husband, Joe. We don’t have children, but we have 5 cats that we rescued. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder when I was 19, and I’ve been battling it every day since. I write to give my feelings a voice and to help others that are struggling. That is why I started a blog in 2013 after I survived a suicide attempt. I’m extremely grateful to everyone that helped me realize my dream of becoming a published author.

 

Social Media Links:

Website www.rebeccalombardo.com

Amazon Author Page www.amzn.com/0692509739

Facebook www.facebook.com/notyourjourney

Twitter www.twitter.com/bekalombardo

Blog www.judgmentfreezone2013.blogspot.com

Google+ https://plus.google.com/u/0/+RebeccaLombardoAuthor

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

