Expect Nothing and You’ll Never Be Disappointed #inspiration #motivation #expectations


expectations

Do you have high expectations of people and situations?

I used to have high expectations of people, especially those who I looked up to. I put him/her up on a pedestal and idolized him/her. Needless to say, I was disappointed a lot. I didn’t know why it kept happening, that is, until MR N gave me a new perspective.

“Expect nothing and you are never disappointed,” he said.

It’s a whole new attitude and one that I now try to abide by.

Blessed is he (or she) who expects nothing, for he (or she) shall never be disappointed.

Mr. Pope’s wisdom applies to this day as it did when he was alive. I know what you may be thinking…

But MRS N, does that mean that I just become a cynic and expect the worst thing to happen? Do I just give up hope all-together?

NO!

Attitude and expectations are two totally different things. When I say to expect nothing, I mean I embody the Golden Rule.

Do unto others as you would like them to do unto you.

Don’t expect anything in return and you will not be disappointed.

There will be people you encounter in your life who’ll not turn out to be the people you thought they were. People make mistakes and if you have expectations that they’re perfect, you will be disappointed. Instead, acknowledge their imperfections and expect nothing.

When I do something nice for someone else, I don’t expect anything in return. I do it because I want to do it, not to get something back. No expectations.

If a friend of mine betrays me, I kindly separate myself from their company and forgive them. I let them go and free myself of the pain of disappointment.

Have you been disappointed by the actions of a friend or family member? Maybe you had expectations that were high. Forgive them and move on.

Expect nothing and you are never disappointed.

🙂 MRS N 🙂

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

