Have the Courage to Say No and Manage Your Priorities #inspiration #motivation


priorities

Do you feel like your life is one big to-do list? Just when you think you have everything done, something else pops up?

It’s time we got our priorities straight.

The #1 rule in time management is figuring out what are the highest priorities and saying “no” to the rest.

I know how it’s difficult to say no. I struggle with that myself. But like Stephen Covey says, you have to have the courage to say no. Explain to the person how you would love to “insert activity/job” but you are swamped at the moment. Another time perhaps?

What are your highest priorities?

Write down your priorities in a day/week. Then rank them in order of importance. Post it somewhere where you can glance at it every day.

My top four priorities:

– MR N

– sleep 

– health

– food

Once these are taken care of, I can move onto work and home responsibilities.

Do you have any tips and advice for managing priorities? Please comment in the box below. We can then help each other be more productive. 

MRS N

4 thoughts on “Have the Courage to Say No and Manage Your Priorities #inspiration #motivation

  1. Women, especially US southern women, are genetically conditioned to say yes to every little request that comes along. (I’m from Seattle but have been living in and/or observing the South for more than three decades now.) It’s so ingrained that they have trouble wrapping their head around your response if you tell them “no” to something.

    Once, years ago, I got a rather comical double-take from a church staff member. I had to remind her that when I do say yes, I get the job done–but my no does in fact mean no, I cannot fulfill the request at this time. She thought a moment and then had to agree (I was a highly positioned lay worker at the time and was always doing stuff in various capacities). Then we had a discussion about how women were conditioned to always say yes, but that it’s equally important to be aware of one’s limitations and say no now and then. We’ve lost touch over the years, but I think she walked away that day with a keener understanding of the necessity of this principle. For her sanity’s sake, I do hope so.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kim, and I completely agree with you 100%! From the time I was a little girl, I was taught to be a giver (give until it hurts) and to never say no (except for drugs and sex of course). As a result, I was burned out and taken advantage of. It wasn’t until I married MR N that I started saying no and sticking to my guns. I think as women we learn that since we’re nurturers, we have to say yes to everything.

      It’s more than okay to say no and not give in.

      Like

  2. If your art is important and gives you more joy than anything else, then you very often must say no to social engagements. Everyone claims to have have a book in them (it seems), but the most common excuse I hear is, “I just don’t have the time,” usually in a social setting, while drinking and dancing and cavorting. These are the same people who will beg and cajole you to “come out and be social” – but what I’ve learned about me is this: every time I’m at a club or other supposedly “fun” social engagement, I find myself wishing I was at home, writing.

    I prioritize writing time, not because it’s lucrative financially, but because it’s how I recharge my batteries, explore my inner world, and I’m not mentally healthy if I don’t do it. This is my “play” – and it’s as important to me as the day job that pays the bills.

    Liked by 1 person

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

