Irreverent Look at a Cooking Network Whose Stars are Creatures of the Night… #bookreview #IARTG


Wicked Palate series by Cadence Denton is an irreverent look at a Cooking Network whose stars are creatures of the night…

 

 Midnight Delight Timeline Cover

 

Title: Midnight Delight (Wicked Palate Book 1)

Author: Cadence Denton

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Cozy Mystery, Vampire

Midnight Delight ebook web size

 

Book Blurb:

Call me Contessa. Forget my name, you couldn’t pronounce it. I’m a professional chef—actually, I’m the LeBron James of chefs. Bobby Flay, Gordon Ramsay even Julia Childs have all been my students, and that’s just a few. I’ve probably forgotten more about the culinary arts than any chef alive has learned. I was in the thick of things when today’s conventional culinary techniques were first being developed. You ever used the three basic steps in dicing an onion? Prego. That was me. Ever heard of clarified butter? Bingo. Me again.

How can that be? I was born in Genoa, Italy in the year of our Lord 1642. That’s right. I’m an Eternal, a creature of darkness, a vampire…and I’m obsessed by what I cannot eat. Food.

Ironically, I’m the star of my very own cooking show on the Foodie Culinary Channel. My dream job! Where I get to create the recipes I adore and share them with my audience and one lucky dinner guest. Which is where my troubles began. And will end.

I was caught partaking the red jungle juice from the neck of my dinner date. I was threatened, attacked with Holy water, and finally blackmailed by my mild-mannered joke of an Associate Producer. As it turns out, she isn’t so mild-mannered.

Now I have two choices: turn her into a child of darkness or risk exposure to the human world.

I’m thinking there’s a third choice. His name is Rocco Guadagnino.

Midnight Delight is Book 1 in the Wicked Palate series.

 

My Review:

Take one witty female celebrity chef who happens to be a vampire, mix in a snarky annoying human bent on becoming eternal, a drool-worthy supernatural assassin who makes Brad Pitt look like a geek, a huge threat to the Shadowlands creatures, not to mention glorious food and you’ve got a five-star delight.

Imagine if you were a vampire and what you lusted after was the one thing you couldn’t have. Not that, readers. I’m talking about food. Contessa loves food and she is one talented chef. She’s one of the uber-famous chefs on television (think Bobby Flay) and everyone loves her. Everyone that is, except her associate producer.

Contessa is backed into a corner with her fangs exposed and she doesn’t know what to do. She seeks the guidance of her friend who reluctantly gives her the number of an assassin, a vampire killer. One look at him and she melts.

Now, Contessa is having second thoughts about suicide and falling hard for Rocco, the man she hired to kill her. Will she follow her heart and realize that life is sweet or will death be her only alternative?

I adored this book! It’s a quick read and more addictive than my husband’s four-meat marinara. Fast-paced, quirky dialogue and a sweet paranormal romance, Midnight Delight will delight your reading taste buds. I can’t wait to read the next installment in the series!

 

Favorite Character:

Contessa. I loved everything about her from her flair in front of the camera to her pleading with Rocco to kill her. Her thoughts range from the completely insane to loveable and sometimes in the same sentence. I loved how real she is and she reminded me a little of Darla from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. She’s a vampire with a serious problem and no solution in sight. I hope the author writes more books featuring Contessa.

 

Favorite Quote:

His blood flooded my mouth and silenced the howling emptiness in my middle. I savored the taste. After all, John J.’ s blood was infused with the spices I’d used in my dishes. How can that be, you ask? I don’t precisely know, but like that smoked water thing an award winning British chef developed a few years back, when the right person ingests the correct spices and seasonings, voila! You have gourmet blood fit for the most discriminating vampire. ~Contessa

 

My Rating: 5 stars

 

Buy Links:

Amazon
Nook
iBooks
Kobo
24symbols
inktera
Scribd.
Are

 

Hungry Like A Wolf

 

Title: Hungry Like the Wolf (Wicked Palate Book 2)

Author: Cadence Denton

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Cozy Mystery, Werewolves

 

Book Blurb:

With her racist rant going viral, Foodie Network star, Marla Sheen aka America’s favorite grandmother, was having a bad week. Marla didn’t know what the fuss was about. She’d only spoken the truth—humans are inferior to lupo manaren. The problem is the human world knows nothing about werewolves, red drinkers, or any of the other Shadowlands citizens. When her attempts at damage control blow up in her face, she decides that appearing on the Dr. Bill show may not have been the best move, but hey, what else can possibly go wrong?

 

A whole lot as it happens.

 

The Captain, her mate and co-Alpha, is challenged for pack leadership by a much younger male and winds up in the hospital. A prickly wizard is sent in by the Shadowlands Congress to make certain Marla doesn’t out the supernatural community, and a man-stealing Jezebel of an ex-best friend shows up at her door. And that’s just the beginning.

 

When Marla turns to her friend, Contessa, for help, she discovers the Contessa is a continent away and has troubles of her own.

 

Hungry Like the Wolf is Book 2 in the Wicked Palate series.

 

My Review:

Marla Sheen has it all: she’s America’s Favorite Nana Chef (Ahem, Paula Deen resemblance), that is until she’s recorded uttering racist comments about a rival chef. She’s no racist, by the way, her words were about the human race not skin color of the chef who stole an award from under her nose. What the world doesn’t know is that Marla’s an Alpha Werewolf and she just exposed her race to the world. Suddenly, the spotlight is very bright and everyone’s a critic.

Her mate, The Captain, gets challenged by his illegitimate son and in the most inopportune time, The Captain has a heart attack. The Council rules that The Captain must still fight, even though he’s still recovering from heart surgery or forfeit. Marla’s only concern is her mate’s health; he’s all that matters.

Marla’s ex-best friend ramps up some revenge and Marla’s temper gets the better of her. She’s in hot water and her only ally, Contessa, is in Italy working through her own problems. Marla must deal with everything or else The Captain will be executed.

I loved book one in this series and couldn’t wait to read this one. I loved Marla, from her inner dialogue to her ability to get into hot water faster than you can howl, and she kept me turning the pages. I loved getting a glimpse into the life of an Alpha female in a mostly-male wolf pack. She’s so colorful, she springs off the page. I laughed out loud in several spots.

What I didn’t care for was all the issues Marla had to deal with. The bad guys got the better of her time and time again. It’s probably only me but I prefer a few issues then the good guys/gals win. Just when I think Marla won, she’s hit with another battle.

The pacing, character development and writing were superb! This is another gem by Cadence and I can’t wait to read the next installment. If you like Kelly Armstrong’s Bitten series, you’ll love this one!

 

Favorite Character:

Marla. I loved her wise-crackin’ tell-it-like-it-is-and-you-better-not-mess-with-me attitude and her fierce love of her beloved, The Captain. I’m used to reading about male werewolves and it was refreshing hearing about life as an Alpha from the female point of view. Marla reminds me of Paula Deen and her temper gets the better of her at times. She had to deal with a lot in this story but no matter what was going on, she persevered. I want more stories with her in it.

 

Favorite Quote:

“Bloody moon, why had the Captain let his little head control his big head? Dammit all, must men always be ruled by their ding-dongs?” ~Marla

 

My Rating: 4 stars

 

Buy it now:

Amazon
Nook
iBooks
Kobo
24symbols
inktera
Scribd.
Are

Extra Virgin (book 3) is Coming Soon

Cadence Denton button.jpg

 

Author Biography:

I’m an odd mixture of one part dreamer, one part realist, and two parts stubborn–which can be a positive thing if you’re a writer. Not content to write in just one genre, I write dark paranormal romance, time travel, light science fiction, romantic comedy, and gritty romantic thrillers. Told you I was stubborn (that and a little crazy!). Besides, doing the same thing day after day can become boring and we can do with a little less boring, right?

 

Visit my website for more information on all my series and upcoming projects. You may not find everything to your liking but you won’t be bored.

You can reach me at cadencedenton@cadencedenton.com

 

Sign up for Cadence’s newsletter at http://cadencedenton.com  for the latest news, great giveaways, and sneak peeks at new projects. Act now and get two book FREE!

 

You can also find her on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, TSU, Independent Author Network, and Twitter

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

