Our Justice by John W. Howell @HowellWave #Thriller #POTLReads #RRBC


 

our-justice-front

 

Title: Our Justice

Author: John W. Howell

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: Keewaydin Lane Books

 

Book Blurb:

The terrorist leader and financier Matt Jacobs figured out a plan to eliminate the President. He is relying on John Cannon’s stature as a hero to help him carry it off. John finds himself walking the fine line of pretending to help Matt while trying to figure out a countermeasure to the plan.

 

The third book in the John J. Cannon Trilogy brings together two strong wills for a showdown. The question to be answered is who will feel the satisfaction that the achievement of justice delivers? John, Matt or neither?

 

Excerpt:

I see out of the corner of my eye that Ned is on the phone. Hopefully, he’s calling in reinforcements since it looks like the SUV is gaining on us. Just as the rear window of the Focus blows inward, he finishes the call. Hundreds of pieces of glass hit Ned and me. Luckily, it’s shatterproof stuff, so we’re mostly okay cut wise. Ned crouches down and fires three quick shots with his 9MM. In the mirror, the SUV swerves to the left and almost explodes after it rams a parked car. “Stop,” Ned yells.

 

I slam on the brakes, which nearly tosses Ned through the windshield. “For shit’s sake, I don’t have a seatbelt on, junior, so take it easy. Just stop and turn around.”

 

“You think those guys are still alive? The way that SUV went into that parked car, I would bet the driver is no longer with us.”

 

“Yeah, I bet you’re right. Just in case, though, slow down and stop fifty feet before them.”

 

I slow the Focus and come to a stop. Steam rises from what used to be the front of the SUV. The entire front end has been driven into the parked car, which looks like an old Cadillac—good and heavy, which doesn’t bode well for the SUV.

 

Ned gets out of the Focus and stands behind the door with his gun aimed at the SUV. “Don’t see anyone moving,” he says. “I’m going to approach the vehicle from the right. You stay here.”

 

He didn’t need to remind me to stay out of the way. By now, I’ve learned to let the professionals handle the sticky situations. Ned moves off to the right and walks at a slow pace up the slight grassy incline, which ends at the side of the surf shop. It’s obvious that he isn’t going to approach the SUV directly. I have to assume the line of fire for the guys in the SUV is severely restricted, since the way the SUV came to rest on the parked car, it’s as if it was parked that way on purpose. They’ll have to sight and fire out of the side windows, which will be tough since all the windows are up. Just when I thought there was no one alive in the SUV, a loud blast from inside blows out the rear side window and onto the grass. Ned falls down on his stomach, and I’m not sure if he’s been hit. While I sit wondering, a round of automatic fire erupts from the SUV, and the bullets stitch a line slightly above Ned, throwing up pieces of brick and mortar in a reddish haze.

 

I punch the accelerator on the focus and steer into the rear of the SUV. The airbags deploy, and the impact to my head leaves me dazed. A couple of seconds later, the bags deflate, and while still seeing stars, I attempt to open the door and get out. Something tells me to move quickly, and then I realize that the smell of gasoline is everywhere. I must have punctured the fuel tank. When I lift the handle and push against the door with my shoulder, nothing happens. I realize I am also still in the seat belt and think this is why I can’t move. I unlatch the belt and shove hard on the door and still cannot open it.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LDFM9WM?ref_=pe_2427780_160035660

Amazon Author Page https://www.amazon.com/author/johnwhowell

 

john-howell-headshot

 

Author Biography:

John’s main interests are reading and writing. He turned to writing as a full-time occupation after an extensive career in business. John writes fictional short stories and novels as well as a daily blog.  His first novel, My GRL is available on Amazon and wherever e-books are sold. His second, His Revenge is available on Amazon and KDP Select.

 

John lives on a barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of South Texas with his wife and spoiled rescue pets.

 

Social Media Links:

Blog Fiction Favorites, http://johnwhowell.com/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/john.howell.98229241

Twitter –https://www.twitter.com/HowellWave

Authors db –http://www.authorsdb.com/authors-directory/6604-john-w-howell

LinkedIn –http://www.linkedin.com/pub/john-w-howell/48/b59/462/

Google +https://plus.google.com/+JohnHowellAuthor/

Goodreads –https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7751796.John_W_Howell

Martin Sisters Publishing –Http://www.martinsisterspublishing.com

 

potl-reads-2

 

We’re celebrating books and authors all October on the POTL Blog. Follow #POTLReads on Twitter to not miss our recommendations and to offer your own! Spread the Word! 

 

5 thoughts on “Our Justice by John W. Howell @HowellWave #Thriller #POTLReads #RRBC

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

