If You Love #Thrillers, Check out this series by @HowellWave #books #POTLReads #RRBC


my-grl-front-cover with click

 

Title My GRL

Author John W. Howell

Genre Thriller

Publisher Martin Sisters Publishing

 

Book Blurb

John J. Cannon successful San Francisco lawyer takes a well-deserved leave of absence from the firm and buys a boat he names My GRL. He is unaware that his newly purchased boat had already been targeted by a terrorist group. John’s first inkling of a problem is when he wakes up in the hospital where he learns he was found unconscious next to the dead body of the young woman who sold him the boat in the first place. John now stands between the terrorists and the success of their mission.

 

Excerpt

Gerry and I finish our beers at the Sandbar and make a move to cross the crowds toward the front door. Before the karaoke noise starts, we agree to go to another place for some pizza. She directs something to me which I can’t understand, so I hold my hand to my ear and try hard to hear her. She looks a little upset. I signal we should wait until we get outside to talk.

 

She nods and I take the lead, reach back, grab her hand, and act like a bulldozer while I separate the crowd as we pass through. It becomes harder since everyone has begun to pay attention to the drunken girl singing what sounds a little like a slurred Avril Lavigne song to the karaoke machine on the stage up front.

 

We make it to the door and go out into the humid night. I drop Gerry’s hand and notice there are two guys walking toward us. I tell her to stay close and figure the guys will eventually make way and go into the bar. I am about to ask her what she was trying to get me to understand in the bar when I feel a rush of air behind me and hear what sounds like someone thumping a watermelon. That was the last thing on my mind when the lights of the world go out.

 

Buy Links

https://www.amazon.com/author/johnwhowell

 

john-howell-headshot

 

Author Biography

John’s main interests are reading and writing. He turned to writing as a full-time occupation after an extensive career in business. John writes thriller fiction novels. His first book, My GRL published by Martin Sisters Publishing and is the first of many exciting adventures of the book’s central character John J. Cannon. The second, His Revenge published by Keewaydin Lane Books is now available in Paperback and Kindle formats. The third book in the John Cannon trilogy, Our Justice launched in September 2016 and is also published by Keewaydin Lane Books.

John lives on Mustang Island in the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of south Texas with his wife and their spoiled rescue pets.

 

Social Media Links

Blog Fiction Favorites, http://johnwhowell.com/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/john.howell.98229241

Twitter –https://www.twitter.com/HowellWave

Authors db –http://www.authorsdb.com/authors-directory/6604-john-w-howell

LinkedIn –http://www.linkedin.com/pub/john-w-howell/48/b59/462/

Google +https://plus.google.com/+JohnHowellAuthor/

Goodreads –https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7751796.John_W_Howell

Amazon Author’s page –https://www.amazon.com/author/johnwhowell

 

His Revenge front final

 

Title His Revenge

Author John W. Howell

Genre Thriller

Publisher Keewaydin Lane Books

 

Book Blurb

America loves John Cannon, its newest hero, and the President wants to present him with the highest civilian medal for bravery for saving the Annapolis midshipman from a terrorist plot to destroy them. While in Washington for the award ceremony, John unwillingly becomes an accomplice in another plan by the same group to attack the credibility of the US President and the stability of the worldwide oil market. There is no way out as John either becomes a traitor to America or causes thousands of innocent people to die if he refuses.

 

Excerpt

The water rushes over my head. I’m sinking and don’t know why. With my breath held, I have trouble stopping the air from escaping since the pressure drives the air up and out. I try to keep my mouth closed, but the water pressure pushes the air out more and more. Will I pass out? In the distance, the light is dim. To rise to the surface in time might not be possible─I need to breathe right now. Toward ending the pain in my chest, my rambling mind rationalizes taking a deep breath—even knowing it will end my life. In conflict with the irrational thought of ending it, my body won’t let me suck in the water, as it fights to retain the little bit of oxygen left to fuel my brain.

 

The despair is nearly overwhelming, and my mind considers other ways to battle the feeling. What more could I have done with my life? The pressure becomes more intense, and I’m about to lose it all, and I decide I’ve lived the way I wanted and have no regrets. I close my eyes and hear only the roar of the sea. I’m so tired. Exhausted. Sleep will fix everything, and I want to give in.

 

Buy Links

https://www.amazon.com/author/johnwhowell

 

our-justice-front

 

Title Our Justice

Author John W. Howell

Genre Thriller

Publisher Keewaydin Lane Books

 

Book Blurb

The terrorist leader and financier Matt Jacobs has figured out a plan to eliminate the President. He is relying on John Cannon’s stature as a hero to help him carry it off. John finds himself walking the fine line of pretending to help Matt while trying to figure out a countermeasure to the plan.

The third book in the John J. Cannon Trilogy brings together two strong wills for a showdown. The question to be answered is who will feel the satisfaction that the achievement of justice delivers? John, Matt or neither?

 

Excerpt

I open my back door, and then pick up my watch from the table. A nice shower and a nap before Ned picks me up sounds in order. Then, seeing (or maybe just sensing) movement in the front of the house, I say, “Who’s there?” Right after I said it, I wish I hadn’t. For definite, someone is in my house, and they may have a gun. How many movies are there where the dope walking into a trap yells “who’s there?” and the audience groans at the stupidity?

 

I crouch down and look around for something to use as protection. The floor creaks, and whoever is in the house is moving toward the rear where I’m hidden. With a need to move quickly, I shoot to my feet and grab the back door knob, throwing the door open, and then run outside. I’m not sure where I’m going, but it’s a damn sight better to be away from whoever is trespassing in my home. After I run over the boardwalk, I turn onto the beach and move into a jog, hoping I’ll run into someone who will help me. About a hundred yards further on, I hear a snap like a twig on my right side toward the Gulf. Before I can look over, I hear the shot of a gun behind me. The snap was the bullet missing me by a fraction. Finally, the shot sound catches up to the speed of flight of the bullet. I turn, and a guy stands on the beach with his arms extended, holding a gun and aiming for another shot. I break to the left and pick up speed until I’m near the dunes. It will be rough going once I get over the dune, but that’s a better bet than staying to stop a bullet. I look as I break and see the guy has stopped aiming and is now running toward me. Dressed in black, he looks way out of place in the bright sunshine.

 

At the dunes, I crawl up and over the top. From there, I keep running and only now realize I’m still barefoot. Dry scrub, with some cactus thrown in for good measure, makes up the undergrowth on this side of the dune. The jog to Twelfth Street, about a city block away, will be painful. A few cars pass by on Twelfth, and I probably made the right choice in getting off the beach. When I look behind, I see that the man in black has just made it to the top of the dune. It looks like he may not follow me, but I can’t take any chances. I continue to move as fast as I can through the scrub, although my momentum slows. Another snap passes my ear, and the sound of the gun is close behind. The son of a bitch is trying to kill me from the top of the dune. I thank my lucky stars he doesn’t have a rifle, as at this range, a pistol hit would be a lucky shot indeed. Right away, I want to take back the thought since tempting fate like that would dictate the guy would have the luckiest shot possible given my arrogant belief he won’t be able to hit me.

 

Buy Links

https://www.amazon.com/author/johnwhowell

 

 potl-reads-2

We’re celebrating books and authors all October on the POTL Blog. Follow #POTLReads on Twitter to not miss our recommendations and to offer your own! Spread the Word! 

8 thoughts on “If You Love #Thrillers, Check out this series by @HowellWave #books #POTLReads #RRBC

    1. Hey Claire, I’ve been a fan of John’s for a few years but when he released book three, I broke down and read them all. Honestly, it was so addictive that I couldn’t stop. lol! I know you’ll love them as well. 🙂

      Like

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

