Meet Hope Destiny and Her Book, I Love the Way You Lie #FridayReads @athrhopedestiny


October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month and it’s our great pleasure to introduce you to Hope Destiny, author of I Love the Way You Lie. She’s a survivor and bravely writes about domestic violence. She sat down for a candid interview and we were so moved, we wanted to share it with you today. Take it away, Hope:

 

Just as your books inspire authors, what authors have inspired you?

Lovey, Sherene Cain, Elle Welch, Lela Jefferson, Tamika Newhouse, Kellz Kimberly, Tiece Mickens, Cole Hart, David Weaver, Denora Boone, Jasmine Devonish, Nisha L and so many more

 

If you could cast your characters in the Hollywood adaptation of your book, who would play your characters?

Michael Ealy, Angela Bassett, Gabrielle Union, Morris Chestnut,  William Levy, Tasha Smith, Sharon Leal, Taraji P Henson and the list goes on.

 

How important are names to you in your books? Do you choose the names based on liking the way it sounds or the meaning?

I choose the name based on the character in the book. I research names and as I scan the list if the name captures my attention then that is the name and I love unique names for my characters and their name represent them  as it should be in a story or movie.

 

What do you consider to be your best accomplishment?

Finishing college with my MBA in Accounting.

 

Have you always liked to write?

Yes. I used to write poetry as a child in middle school so writing has always been me.

 

What writing advice do you have for other aspiring authors?

If you love to write just write. No matter what anyone says. Believe in you because if you don’t no one else will.

 

If you didn’t like writing books, what would you do for a living?

What I am doing now. Being an Accountant.

 

Do you read your reviews? Do you respond to them, good or bad? Do you have any advice on how to deal with the bad?

I do read reviews and I do not respond to them. I have done it a few times when it was just a total bash and not constructive criticism. We are humans too but now I read it and learn from them or don’t. Not everyone will like your work and I have no clue why people get angry at my imagination. I made it up. It is fiction.  It is crazy but it is what it is. I write it and if you like it or don’t. I am ok with it either way.

 

Do you have a favorite spot to write? What is it?

I like to write in my bed with the tv off and no music. Just quiet.

 

Is this your first book? How many books have you written prior (if any?)  

I have a lot of books. I think about 10 or 11 but I have lost count. I have taken one down off Amazon then I have a children’s book and then I am dropping books now as I type this.

 

What are you working on now? What is your next project?

Just dropped I Love The Way You Lie today for Domestic Violence Awareness Month and next week will be Pieces of Me…another DV story and will actually be continued.

 

Do you write naked?

Not always but sometimes

 

What is your biggest failure?

Racking up all this student loan debt

 

What is the biggest fib you’ve ever told? Have you ever been in trouble with the law?

Yes. My own domestic violence actually sent me to jail for the first time in my life because he was hurt instead of me.

 

Have you ever gotten into a fight?

Yes. Siblings and others

 

What is your biggest fear?

Failure

 

What literary character is most like you?

Eve in Sins of A Good Girl

 

Where is one place you want to visit that you haven’t been before?

Paris

 

Do you have any scars? What are they from?

I have a lot of emotional scars

 

 i-love-the-way-you-lie

 

Title I LOVE THE WAY YOU LIE

Author Tisha (aka Hope Destiny)

Genre URBAN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Publisher PENPOINT PUBLICATIONS

 

Book Blurb

Anya has been running from man to man and has been very indecisive her entire life. Trying to find out where she belongs the only thing she continues to find out is that the grass is not always greener on the other side.

 

Trey is sexy and breathtaking and takes Anya by surprise but she will find out that looks can really be deceiving. Trey takes her up and down and thru so much in their short time together that Anya believes that it is just her fate to be with a man like Trey.

But does Anya really believe that Trey is where she belongs?

Will Anya be a victor or a victim of her circumstance?

Find out in this epic tale of lies that is dressed up as love.

#domesticviolenceawarenessmonth

#howdoyouseedv

 

Excerpt

Chapter 1

He puts me thru hell and I call it love.

            Let’s do this dirty laundry, this dirty laundry.

Let’s do this dirty laundry, this dirty laundry.

When you’re soaked in tears for years, it never airs out.

When you make pain look this good it never wears out.

This dirty laundry, this dirty laundry.

 

Can you hear the lyrics to Dirty Laundry by Kelly Rowland?

You might not hear them like I hear them.

Those words speak to me now as I battle the demons that Trey David Bellamy brought with him.

“GET YO ASS UP AND GET YO SELF TOGETHER!” Trey yelled.

I am a mess.

I have lost everything because of him but all he care about is himself.

Everything that he did to get me away from my husband was just a scheme to get what he wanted out of me.

He used me up and now I have nothing left…physically or emotionally.

And here I am now on the floor of my house crying my eyes out.

My husband loved me but I guess love wasn’t enough for me.

I left my great husband for a no good ass man who would oversee my downfall.

What had I done to him for him to take a married woman from her husband to mistreat her?

I wanted to end it all.

I have nothing.

My kids don’t want anything to do with me.

I have mistreated them for Trey.

I make them stay locked up in the room and not come out while Trey was home.

He doesn’t like kids so he didn’t want mine or anything to do with mine.

Everything I have lived and worked for is falling apart because of Trey.

As he yells and yells, I just pray and pray that he didn’t put his hands on me today.

God knows I have nothing and no one to turn to.

Well I did.

I have my parents but I didn’t want to alert them to the things that was going on in my life.

Trey lured me into his arms and into his world with his charm and good looks.

When I think about it, he reminded me of a dark skin Jeremy Meeks.

If you don’t remember Jeremy Meeks, he was the hot felon whose mugshot went viral because of all us hot, horny ass women who saw his high yella skin and light gray eyes and ignored the fact that he was another black convicted felon and was currently being held on eleven felony charges.

Because of all the attention on Facebook that all of us hot horny ass women gave him, he is now a model for Gucci, Givenchy and etc. with gold teeth in his mouth and tattoos all over his body and face.

I even hear he is getting a reality tv show.

Trey reminded me of Jeremy Meeks with his good looks and grey eyes, but he didn’t have a damn thing.

He don’t have a pot to piss in or a window to throw it out of but in steps my naïve ass to buy the pot for him to piss in and provide the window for him to throw it out of.

He is going on and on about how he could have any woman and he chose me.

He chose a woman with three kids from three different baby daddies but he forgot to mention a successful black woman journalist.

I wasn’t a Robin Roberts of Good Morning America or a Deborah Roberts from ABC News, but I would like to believe I was getting there.

I am at least on the air and reporting about things that mattered.

Of course I was too fast for my own good growing up and had three different kids from three different dudes and I fell off for a short time, but I got back on the bandwagon and feel I am in a good place.

I thought I was until Trey no good ass came into my life.

Lord knows I am always reporting about a battered woman and violence against women and here I am in the middle of my own damn news story.

Trey snaps me out of my thoughts when he said, “DO YOU HEAR ME?!!”

I say, “Yes. Why are you yelling Trey?”

He sucks his teeth and says out the blue, “I think we need to see other people.”

I say, “What the hell is that supposed to mean?”

He says, “We should swing or maybe you can give me a pass to cheat like Toya used to give her husband Memphitz.”

I look at him like he had lost his damn mind.

He ain’t my husband and if he was, I would damn sure not be giving him a cheat pass.

 

Buy Links  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M5E8J66/?ref_=aga_h_cl_dashboard_pl

 

hope-destiny

 

Author Biography

Latisha (Tisha) is my name. I write under the pseudonym Hope Destiny. I was born and still reside in Orlando, Florida .

 

Social Media Links

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AuthorHopeDestiny

Facebook reading group for giveaways Tisha (Hope Destiny) Hang Out Spot https://www.facebook.com/groups/1449283102045841/

Twitter athrhopedestiny

Instagram penpointpub

 

 

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

