Don’t Panic! Everything’s A-OK #inspiration #ThursdayThoughts


person-1627709_1280

 

“Panic causes tunnel vision. Calm acceptance of danger allows us to more easily assess the situation and see the options.” –Simon Sinek

Last night I let panic sweep over me. I was doing the dishes when suddenly my left arm went numb and I dropped a plastic measuring cup. I tried to pick it up and my fingers wouldn’t close around it.

My old nemesis, panic, put me in a choke hold. Panicky thoughts raced around inside my head.

Oh my gawd, am I having a heart attack?

What’s wrong with my arm?

I should call out to MR N but he’d probably think I was being silly.

Did I break my arm today somehow?

I need my arm to run our business.

MR N came wandering into the kitchen to get more drink when he found me in the grips of a panic attack. In a soothing voice, he talked me through it. No, it was not a heart attack and no I didn’t break my arm. I just strained it.

When something unexpected happens, do you panic? Does your brain imagine the worst possible scenarios for what’s going on?

I’ve been battling the panic monster for as long as I can remember. My first reaction when I’m stressed is to panic. It’s only been in the last five years that I’ve been able to breathe through a situation without panicking. I even made it a goal of mine for 2016 to not panic so much.

So, this sudden onslaught of panic last night caught me off-guard. I got through it thanks to my beloved MR N. But it also reaffirmed my need to stop panic in its tracks.

Panic causes tunnel vision. Calm acceptance of danger allows us to more easily assess the situation and see the options.

This is so true. When I’m in the midst of a panicky situation, I can’t see past my own nose. But when I calmly accept what’s going on and try to figure out a solution, then I’m able to handle anything.

If I can do it, so can you. Give that panic monster the heave-ho and wear a cape of calm. We can handle anything thrown our way, as long as we don’t panic.

MRS N

2 thoughts on “Don’t Panic! Everything’s A-OK #inspiration #ThursdayThoughts

  1. Thank you for sharing. I often can’t identify a panic attack as such during it. My mind’s racing always seems so logical, in that it’s based on a legit concern or fear. If that makes any sense.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

