The Never Dawn by @R_E_Palmer Intrigued MRS N #bookreview #dystopian #YA


the-never-dawn

 

Title: The Never Dawn

Author: R.E. Palmer

Genre: YA Dystopian

 

Book Blurb:

NEW DYSTOPIAN TRILOGY: BOOK ONE

 

All his young life, Noah has longed to see the sky he’s only heard about in stories. For over one hundred years, Noah’s people have toiled deep beneath the Earth preparing for The New Dawn – the historic day when they will emerge to reclaim the land stolen by a ruthless enemy.

 

But when Rebekah, the girl of his forbidden desire, discovers a secret their leader has been so desperate to keep, Noah suspects something is wrong. Together, they escape and begin the long climb to the surface. But nothing could prepare them for what awaits outside.

 

BOOK TWO, CLOUD CUCKOO is out now!

 

My Review:

Imagine being forced to live underground and not even being able to see the sky. Mother says it’s for your own protection. Is she telling the truth or is it all a lie?

 

The Never Dawn is the story of Noah, a young man living in a dystopian society. There are rules for everything and it’s all about the collective good. There is no personal identity, no individuality and if one person amongst your team messes up or slows down, the whole group suffers.

 

One day, Noah is given the diary of Moses, a hero of his society (called The Ark)  over one hundred years ago, and what he discovers while reading shocks him to the core. Noah shares what he reads with his forbidden crush, Rebekah, and together they embark on a deadly journey to reach the surface. Will they make it or will their enemies put a stop to it?

 

As someone who isn’t a huge dystopian fan, I really enjoyed it. The characters were original, relatable and I was deeply invested as a reader. Noah was fascinating to watch as he uncovered truths that crumbled his faith. His honest reactions to what he dealt with separated this series from other dystopians for me.

 

Palmer takes the reader into a society not far from our own and makes us re-evaluate our belief system. Do we blindly believe without searching out answers and if so, are we no better than those in this story?

 

Highly recommend for fans of Divergent, Hunger Games and those who love immersing themselves in dystopian universes. Can’t wait for the next book in the series.

 

Favorite Character: Noah. I attached myself to him almost from page one and it was an emotional roller coaster ride to the end. Seeing him confront reality with faith and deciding for himself what to do was a pleasure. A relatable character many will love.

 

Favorite Quote:

Read a preview: http://www.theneverdawn.com/preview.html and decide for yourself which quote is the best.

 

My Rating:  4 stars

 

Buy it now:

Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Never-Dawn-R-E-Palmer-ebook/dp/B01JVI3GXE

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31366152-the-never-dawn

 

Author Biography:

From an early age, I loved to read and soon developed a love of sci-fi, fantasy and horror. After writing a number of short stories since my late teens, I finally completed my first novel in 2012; SKY. The sequel, Stargazers, was published in June 2013. I’m currently writing a dystopian trilogy – all three books will be out by December 2016.

 

Social Media Links:

Website http://www.theneverdawn.com/

Blog http://www.theneverdawn.com/blog

Twitter https://twitter.com/R_E_Palmer?lang=en

Bookbub https://www.bookbub.com/authors/r-e-palmer

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Advertisements

One thought on “The Never Dawn by @R_E_Palmer Intrigued MRS N #bookreview #dystopian #YA

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s