Meet Author Lovey @indielovepromo and Her #NewRelease! #books #FridayReads


15713134_1790517004536076_367275398_n

I love discovering new books and authors. It’s my great pleasure to introduce you to Lovey. She’s the author of the brand new release, I’m Too Grown for This. She agreed to sit down for an interview. Please welcome her to the POTL Blog and be sure to check out her book, too. Take it away, Lovey:

What is your writing process?
-I just write. I have tried outlines, setting time aside and other tricks but for me; the best thing to do is write when my characters are speaking to me.

Do you have any odd writing habits?
-The only odd habit I have is writing on my phone then transferring it. I think I’m more comfortable with the phone so I use it first.

Just as your books inspire authors, what authors have inspired you?
-My biggest fiction writing inspiration is Sista Souljah because she was able to bring life to a book on The Coldest Winter Ever. My biggest nonfiction inspiration is Iyanla Vanzant. Her work touches on everything life may throw at you.

How important are names to you in your books?
-My character names are the most important thing in the story for me. They tell readers who they are. Do you choose the names based on liking the way it sounds or the meaning? I use names I like that are not trendy but cute.

What writing advice do you have for other aspiring authors?
-Find your lane and stay in it. Do not compare your outcome to anyone’s.

Do you write naked?
-I do but I love to be naked so it’s not really abnormal.

What is your biggest failure?
-Not self-publishing from the start

What is the biggest fib you’ve ever told?
-That I wasnt writing anymore.

Have you ever been in trouble with the law?
-Yes, I went to jail for library books.

Have you ever gotten into a fight?
-Yes, when I was younger but I learned that there were people out there that could handle me.

im-too-grown-for-this
Title: I’m Too Grown For This
Author: Lovey
Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Publisher: PenPoint Publications

Book Blurb:
Loves, Lies, Pain and Deceit are all part of being an adult or grown. Reno and Montana seem to have the perfect relationship besides him being in another relationship with Shira. After he decides to marry one of them everyones life changes. But, will he end up with either of them?

Talia and Montana are like sisters but Montana’s blood sister Dakota has a few secrets that may tear up friendships, marriages and more. Plus, one split second decision including Sampson; Talia’s husband could truly ruin their lives.

Will love conquer all? Can marriages and friendships be saved? “I’m Too Grown For This” is the story of adult decisions and consequences.

Excerpt:
1997

“Monty, why are you so difficult? The dress is fine. Showing everybody exactly what you are offering.”

“Mama, I swear you be sounding like a pimp. It’s cute but it isn’t fitting me right; up top.”

“It is; honey you get them thangs from me so be proud. We are just top heavy. Its in the blood.”

We both laughed and at that moment my sister Dakota walked in the room.

“Monty, I wish I could go with you.  You look nice.”

We hugged.  My mama and sister were my best friends.  It’s always been the three of us.  My daddy isn’t around much but he does send that check every month and when my mama or us calls; he comes.  I never knew what it was like to have real love from any man but tonight I planned to find out.  It’s Prom Night and I promised Carl that we were going to spend it together.  I lied and told my mother that I was staying with my best friend Talia because I didn’t know how she would react.  Talia lied and said she was staying with me because our parents never check in on us.

“Thanks, Kota and your time is coming. At least you got Freshman Dance this year; I couldn’t go to mine because I was babysitting you.”

I punched her in the arm.

“Damg, Monty…you still blaming me for that.”

“Yep.”

“Well, neither of you should have been upset because I had to work.  That’s when your daddy was gone away so I had to hold it down but thank God that didn’t last too long. Kota; run to the corner store and get me another disposable camera before Carl gets here. I done used all the film in this one.”

“Ok, Monty; you good?”

I nodded and watched Dakota walk out of the room.  I sat on the bed because all of this getting ready had made me tired and I needed to clear my head before Carl got here. My mama sat down beside me.

“Montana; listen.  Tonight is a big night for you. I didn’t get a prom because I was pregnant with Dakota at 16 and you were already three.  I don’t regret ya’ll but I do know that things could have been different. Your daddy was and is the love of my life but he clearly doesn’t ever plan to settle down; he even says it.  Still, I know that he is my soulmate so with all his kids and all his mess I deal with him.  Now, I know that ya’ll have seen me with other men but none of them mean a thing.  I also know that Carl is the love of your life and I’m sure you plan on showing him tonight.”

My eyes bucked but I couldn’t open my mouth to lie.

“Just relax. I understand.  Please remember a few things before you decide that you are ready to be a woman.  Carl is a man that has one main objective with women; he needs to feel good. So far, you are doing something right because he seems pretty into you but don’t think giving it up is going to make him love you forever. I’m sure he has had others and he might like them better.  Now, always use protection and I mean it. He should have condoms and I have been hoping that you were smart enough to ask me for a pill but since you didn’t; I have already put a diaphragm in your purse.  Be smart about babies and diseases.  I ain’t raising no more.”

I started to speak but she held her hand up.

“Men are all the same.  They may love you but they are going to love you the way they know how.  It doesn’t matter if you are the best thing that ever happened to them or if they really want to settle down; money along with power and respect make them stray.  They want a woman that is going to help them get to where they need to be financially. They want the power of knowing that they are the man and they want the respect of everyone around them; so they make choices.  Learn now to not get in your feelings about any of it.  If he is the man for you; you will know.  Yeah, you may decide that if he is cutting up that you are going to too but keep your heart open for him.  If he has a wife or girlfriend; do not let her move you…as long as he is coming back; be happy!  I may sound crazy but I know what I am talking about.  I promise that each and everytime I make love to your daddy; it is just like the first time. But, I know that he needs more and I don’t even think about it.”

“But, mama…does he really love you if he is with other women?”

“He does.  The way he knows how and I am not stupid and could have any man I want but he is the one for me; so I am waiting for him. I may never get him but he knows that I am here.”

Buy Links:

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N2WNHGG

 

Author Biography:

Lovey aka Indie Love aka Lovey Shareese is an author that is changing the game. Her ability to tell life stories through her pen has set her aside. She gives you truth in fiction and doesn’t hide the pain behind situations. She has over 10 books published in the genres of Urban, Christian and Womens Fiction. She has also published a self help book. She is planning to release several books in 2017 and encourages everyone to make their wave and ride it.

Social Media Links:
FB: Www.facebook.com/indielove

Twitter: @indielovepromo

IG: @indielove733

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

