Saying “I Love You” Means Loving All the Parts, Not Just the Pretty Ones #MondayBlogs


romatic love

Love, in its purest form, is loving the monster inside just as much as loving the angel.

Mr. N is reading a book right now and has come to a touchy subject: trust and love. The character (we’ll call him Jim) is a conflicted man. He’s had his share of betrayal and loss. He’s in a relationship with a loving, caring woman yet he doesn’t trust her. He goes so far as to hire a private detective to follow her around. He just knows she’s cheating on him. He feels guilty about it and when the report comes in the mail, he refuses to open it. Overcome with guilt, he tells her what he did. His defense: but I didn’t open it.

She’s angry, hurt and leaves him. As she’s walking out the door, she says in so many words:

“Love without trust isn’t love at all; you can’t have one without the other.”

Truer words haven’t been spoken. Trust and Love are interconnected. You can’t love without trust and you can’t trust without love.

When I was in my early twenties, I let my insecurities rule my heart. Jealousy waged war in every single relationship I was in. I needed constant affirmations and when push came to shove, my jealousy drove them away. I simply didn’t trust them.

Trust can be scary but then so is love. It means leaving yourself exposed to rejection, pain, anger and loneliness. But it also opens you up to love, peace, joy and happiness.

I opened myself up to MR N and it was the best decision I’ve ever made. Sure, it’s scary but the love we share, the unadulterated joy we feel, is the best thing in the world. We walk hand-in-hand through life letting trust and love guide our path.

Let unconditional love rule your heart and follow this mantra:

I love you. That means I’m not just here for the pretty parts. I’m here no matter what.

MRS N

5 thoughts on “Saying “I Love You” Means Loving All the Parts, Not Just the Pretty Ones #MondayBlogs

  1. Reblogged this on Site Title and commented:
    Exactly, UNCONDITIONAL LOVE, is the most intensely beautiful feeling and expression in this crazy life of ours. If lucky enough to find that one person, grab hold on and become one with, the other half of, that very special person who completes you to the depths of your soul.

    Liked by 1 person

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

