New Year, New You: A Guest Post by @CadenceDenton #newyearnewyou #ASMSG #99cents


new-year-new-you

 

2016: The best thing I can say about last year is it’s finally over. What it was: a year of turmoil, protests, and outright fighting. What it wasn’t: a year of productive story plotting, character development, and plain old butt in the chair and hands on the keyboard.

 

2017: My reset year. A year of new hope, new skills, new goals, and new stories. This year I plan to write two books in the Immortal Firewalkers series, finish the Wicked Palate trilogy, and begin a collaborative YA series with author, Livia Quinn.

 

What happened?

 

First, a long neglected but necessary break. I needed to step back and take a long look at what I was writing versus what I want to write. I enjoy the paranormal genre, love fantasy and alternate worlds. I’ve been kicking around several possible stories. Putting fresh ideas in my Maybe file while trashing the old mindset of what I can’t do.

 

Second, I’ve begun to use my Dragon Naturally Speaking program and have embraced dictation making my word count rise exponentially and freeing me from the keyboard. I know this method will make my aforementioned goal easily attainable.

 

Third, I’ve joined a Story Genius study group. I’ve always, always been a writer who believing the story should be plot-driven. For me, it’s been all action all the time. So, Lisa Cron’s explanation that the story is truly about the character’s emotion—more particularly, the character’s misbelief, longing, and fear—has been cathartic.

 

Finally, my 2017 mantra is New Year, New You. Like most writers, I fight fear. Fear that I’ll never be able to pen another story. Fear my story isn’t “good enough”. When I first began to write in earnest, I spent months, years on editing and polishing my work. What I was really doing was hiding. My story would never be ready and I would never suffer criticism. Remember Marty McFly’s father in Back to the Future? He wouldn’t let anyone read his work because what if they didn’t like it? It was funny in the movie, but all too familiar in real life. 2016 had me wallowing in comfortable ruts. It was my stagnation year. But 2017? Yeah, it’s going to be a great year.

 

With Heart of Fire, book three in the Immortal Firewalkers Series looming on the horizon, I’ve reduced the price of Fire and Blood, book one, to $0.99 for a limited time to give readers a chance to see how the series began. I hope you’ll enjoy reading it as much as I did writing the book.

Fire and Blood 200x300

 

Title: Fire and Blood

Author: Cadence Denton

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Vampires

 

Book Blurb:

Jeannette’s life sucks. An outcast orphan addicted to junky blood, she is desperate for a chance at redemption. She’s the most powerful of her Firewalker race, but that’s not saying much since the Firewalkers are on the verge of extinction ̶ thanks to Jeannette’s disastrous mistakes. For centuries she’s searched for her personal unicorn, the elusive Fecund, the Firewalkers’ human mates. He’s out there…somewhere.

 

She lost everything ̶ family, fortune…her future when the ruling Council of Seven declared her a traitor for her part in the genocide of the Fecund race. Her desperation is understandable simply because the Council refuses to believe that she was set up by the Revenant vampire, Alexander the Great.

 

Devin McIntyre’s life imploded eleven years ago when his twenty-first birthday celebration collided with a blood sucker named, Alexander. With his parents slaughtered and his twin sisters taken by the psychotic vampire, Devin turned to the ultra-secret Society for Eternal Illumination for training in urban warfare and help with confronting his demons.

 

In a dilapidated hotel in Jackson, Mississippi he set a trap, certain he’d tracked down his old, old enemy. Finally, he’d get vengeance and find his sisters. Instead, Devin uncovers a myth.

 

When a long-legged beauty walks through a wall of fire, Devin’s beliefs are shattered.

 

When Jeannette tastes his Fecund blood after centuries believing his race extinct, she knows she has found a priceless treasure.

 

From their first kiss, their first intimate touch, Jeannette realizes that in Devin, she’s found salvation. This human male can save a race that is balancing on the precipice of extinction.

 

But, when allies become enemies and havens become traps, she suspects her “treasure” has his own agenda.

 

Buy Link:

$.99 cents

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00789YWBY

 

cadence-denton

Author Biography:

My love of books began in elementary school with Nancy Drew mysteries. By high school, I was immersed in Jane Austin and Georgette Heyer. So, naturally I write dark (and light) paranormal romance, gritty hitmen contemporaries, and time travel. A daughter of the South, I live on the banks of the Mississippi opposite the oldest settlement on the river where I share my writer’s cave with four dachshunds and a slightly ditzy cocker spaniel.

 

Visit my website for more information on all my series and upcoming projects. You may not find everything to your liking but you won’t be bored.
You can reach me at cadencedenton@cadencedenton.com

 

Sign up for Cadence’s newsletter at cadencedenton.com for the latest news, great giveaways, and sneak peeks at new projects.

 

You can find also me on Facebook Instagram Pinterest Twitter TSU Independent Author Network ASMSG

 

5 thoughts on “New Year, New You: A Guest Post by @CadenceDenton #newyearnewyou #ASMSG #99cents

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

