The Value of Love: An Inspirational Thought #inspiration #love #WednesdayWisdom


febraury-love-month-graphic

The Value of Love

We both worry about money

About how we will live.

 

I stress

You cry

In the end

We should strive

To recognize the value of our love.

 

We work hard on our budget

Cutting corners

Using thrift

Overlooking how our Lord Jesus

Has given us THE gift

The total power of our love.

 

© 2016 Poetry of Love: The Engagement Year by N. N. Light, All rights reserved

What’s the value of love?

It’s more precious than all the gold, silver and money in the world.

I’m horrible with numbers, budgets and finances. When I was single, I lived paycheck to paycheck, racking up debt. I tried to save and work within a budget, really I did. But then I’d see a cute pair of shoes and I’d have to have them. Cha-ching, on the credit card.

MR N loves numbers, budgets and finances. His favorite thing to do is figuring out taxes. He digs in, reading up on the new tax laws and is just like a kid at Christmas.

When we got engaged in 2004, we pooled our finances together. Me with my wild spending and him with the tight budget. You’d think we’d be fighting every night. I didn’t want to end up like my married friends and family, always fighting over money. We agreed that he’d be in charge of all the finances and we’d talk about everything money-wise. A great compromise and it allowed me to be free from worrying about money.

The poem above speaks of our working through our money issues before we were married and it speaks to my heart again this morning. It’s tax time and we got hit with a huge tax bill (we did our taxes last night). We owe more money than we thought and it was a panic moment for me. But MR N knows me and calmed me down.

“It’s all going to be okay, my love.”

He came up with a plan and now we’re ready to take it on.

The power of love.

Love is powerful. Love is healing. Love can break through any obstacle and is stronger than anything imaginable.

Love one another without prejudice, ulterior motive or condition. Watch the power of love transform another life.

Has love changed your life? Share in the comments below.

MRS N

February is Love Month on the POTL Blog. Every Inspiration Thought will be about love (not just romantic either). Be inspired and spread love.

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

