Self-Love: Embrace Your Inner God/Goddess! #inspiration #love #motivation


febraury-love-month-graphic

 

I’m Not Beautiful

She says, ‘I’m Not Beautiful’

As she suffers with her cold.

What she doesn’t get is

She’s more beautiful than before.

Joelle’s beauty isn’t fleeting

Or temporary or a guise.

Her beauty is spectacular

Glowing

Flashing

My prize.

The beauty is born of an inner goddess

Her eyes radiate her beauty and character

A glimpse of her angelic soul.

I’m sorry, honey, you are beautiful

It’s impossible for you to be not

I’m marrying a beautiful woman

God’s gracious gift to me.

 

© 2016 Poetry of Love: The Engagement Year by N. N. Light, All rights reserved

How’s your self-love meter? Do you look at yourself with love or disdain?

Self-love has always been a difficult thing for me. I could blame it on growing up, being bullied constantly and not living up to Hollywood’s perfect body image. The real reason is much more simpler than that. I believed in other people but not myself.

As many of know, I’m an encourager. It’s a part of my make-up to encourage and uplift others. But turn that gift inward and my inner critic goes into overdrive.

You’re not pretty.

You’re unlovable.

That outfit makes you look fluffy.

No one cares about you.

You’re getting older and it shows.

I have a secret weapon, though. When I hear those ugly words, I think of MR N and how much he loves me. The negative insults fade away and I whisper this mantra:

“I’m beautiful. I see myself the way MR N sees me: a goddess and an angel. I love myself.”

I know this sounds new-age but it really works. You have to love yourself before you can love others. Each of us has an inner god/goddess itching to break free and shine.

Embrace your inner god/goddess and love yourself!

MRS N

2 thoughts on “Self-Love: Embrace Your Inner God/Goddess! #inspiration #love #motivation

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

