Online Friends: A Powerful Love #inspiration #love #friendship


febraury-love-month-graphic

 

“I dislike the phrase ‘Internet friends,’ because it implies that people you know online aren’t really your friends, that somehow the friendship is less real or meaningful to you because it happens through Skype or text messages. The measure of a friendship is not its physicality but its significance.” ― John Green, This Star Won’t Go Out: The Life and Words of Esther Grace Earl

 

I thank God every day for my online friends. They’re more dependable, caring and loving than my some of my own family and friends.

 

I have a great circle of online friends. They’re there to support me in times of need and celebrate with me in times of triumph. I know I can depend on them through thick and thin, no matter what. It doesn’t matter that they live thousands of miles away or that they speak a different language.

 

Friends, whether they are “real” or “online”, are one of life’s greatest joys. We smile when we see a message from them and whatever is happening takes a backseat. We share something funny, sad or meaningful. We ask for advice or give it when needed. We congratulate when something positive happens and offer hugs when something bad happens. Our online friends, through the power of social media, provide love and it’s simply wonderful.

 

There’s so many amazing people out there who hold a special place in my heart. I thank you all for showing me the power of positive thinking and love. Without you, my life would be miserable. I’m so grateful!

 

A laugh to make your day: http://www.boredpanda.com/catnip-wine-for-cats-apollo-peak/

 

Send a message to all your online friends today and tell them how much they mean to you! Share a laugh, like I did above. lol!

 

MRS N

9 thoughts on “Online Friends: A Powerful Love #inspiration #love #friendship

  1. A curious quote. I can see what he’s saying, but I think the ‘online’ part is more of a location designation. Just thinking about how I say ‘high school friend’, ‘childhood friend’, and ‘college friend’. It’s weird how we tend to add a description word instead of simply saying friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I get where you’re coming from. Maybe it’s human nature to quantify friends, like a caste system. I don’t care for those who say internet/online friends aren’t real. For as long as I can remember, there have been long-distant friends and pen pals. Distance shouldn’t matter and shouldn’t make one friendship better than another. A friend is a friend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know what you’re saying, Mrs N. To non-bloggers, they simply don’t *get* the community and genuine friendship that develops with people online.

    There are people I will likely never meet in person, but they are an important part of my life, and as you said, when I see a new post or email from them, my heart lights up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

