Listen to Your Body and Take Care of Yourself! #WednesdayWisdom #Love #Health


febraury-love-month-graphic

 

What Can I Do?

My baby is sobbing in pain

What, God, can I do?

I’m helpless

My efforts in vain

I seek to comfort

To ease her.

I love her.

Please God, take this pain from her

Put it on me

I’ll suffer all for my love.

Just please, give her comfort

I’ll do anything for my love.

© 2016 Poetry of Love: The Engagement Year by N. N. Light, All rights reserved

Do you love your body? Do you take care of it with the same passion you take care of your family?

For several years, I took advantage of my body. I didn’t take care of it and certainly didn’t love it. I put it down, spewing hateful comments and despising myself. I didn’t fuel it with the right food yet expected it to perform like a F1 race car.

Your health and taking care of yourself should be top priority. Take it from me, I know. If you take proper care of your body, it will take care of you.

MR N wrote the above poem for me as I was dealing with a really bad cold. I was sick, couldn’t sleep and was miserable. He felt helpless and wanted to make me well. These are his thoughts, his emotions, his love for my health. It was at this moment, I realized I needed to take better care of myself.

Flash-forward thirteen years. It’s Love Weekend and I’m sick with a really bad cold. I’m feeling yucky and guilty for ruining our weekend. He holds me close and whispers loving words to me. He comforts me and I let his love for my health wash over me.

I take good care of myself and my health is very important to me. Why? Because it’s important to my beloved and thus, extremely important to me. I want to live a long life, with MR N, and the only way to secure that is to take care of my body.

How do I take care of my body?

I drink 3 litres of water a day, walk 4 times a week, eat healthy portions, make sure I get at least 7 hours of sleep a night and release stress in productive ways. I listen to my body, too. When it needs to rest, I rest. When it gets ansty for a walk, I walk. When it craves a certain food or drink, I indulge. My body and I are life-long partners and we take care of each other.

Are you taking care of your body? Do you listen to your body? What are some ways you love your body? Share in the comments below.

MRS N

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

