Raise Your Hand if You Love #SocialMedia … #MondayBlogs #love #motivation


social-media-1006480_1280

 

Who here loves social media?

I do, too, but there comes a time when our love for social media takes over our lives. It becomes an obsession. You have to be online 24/7 to make sure you don’t miss an update and/or notification.

As a writer/blogger/marketer, I understand what you’re going through. It’s hard to shut off but trust me when I tell you that shutting off your device for a few hours or even a day is actually beneficial to your health.

The term is digital detox and it’s becoming more and more popular. Read all about it here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_detox

When I became a social media marketer six years ago, MR N and I made an agreement to take weekends off. If a client emailed me on the weekend, I wouldn’t read it or reply. The weekends were off-limits and reserved for family time.

Was it hard?

Sure, it was… and sometimes still is. But it’s necessary for my overall health and at the end of the day, I’m much happier.

Listen, social media is great and I’d be out of a job if it wasn’t for social media. I met MR N via social media and I’m forever grateful. But there comes a time when we all have to unplug and get away.

Love of social media is perfectly healthy and rather fun. But when you start to get anxious and stressed out by social media, maybe it’s time to take a break. Shut off your device for one hour and see what happens. Relax, take it easy, go for a walk, do something you enjoy. Social media’s like your faithful pet; it’ll be there when you get back.

Do you take a digital detox? Share your experience in the comments below.

MRS N

febraury-love-month-graphic

5 thoughts on “Raise Your Hand if You Love #SocialMedia … #MondayBlogs #love #motivation

  1. I’m not actually a lover of social media, although I’m on it A LOT. I agree with coldhandboyack – it’s a necessary evil. I do try to limit the time I’m on it. I try to keep Sundays completely free. Try being the operative word here.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

