Meet Iris Sweetwater @irisissweet1 and Sizzling Texas Roze #romance #amreading


Iris Sweetwater

 

Today, it’s our absolute pleasure to introduce you to Iris Sweetwater. She’s a romance/fantasy/paranormal author and a fun person, too. We met via Twitter and MRS N can’t wait to read her latest release, Texas Roze. She agreed to sit down with MRS N for an interview and we think you’ll agree when we say you should check out her writing. So please give a warm welcome to Iris. Take it away, Iris:

 

Just as your books inspire authors, what authors have inspired you?

It is very hard to choose. I think you know that as an author, I am also a book lover. I have read so many. I am going to stick to three in particular, though I think I won’t be the only one using these. 🙂

  • JK Rowling: Obviously, she has the ultimate career, and I can’t say I wouldn’t want that. However, there is much more about her that inspires me. I had to write a paper about her for school about 12 years ago, and I found out so amazing things. She was at the lowest of lows as a single mother who had nothing when she first started writing Harry Potter, and it took a long time to get recognized and get a book deal. She went through a lot of struggles and still came out in top, and she is a nice and brilliant person.

 

  • Jane Austen: This is the ultimate woman in writing romance. Even though her settings speak of a time I didn’t live in, I feel a lot of her themes are still relevant today. And let’s face it, her male characters are the best to base any man you write about on.

 

  • Holly Black: She is not afraid to be unique in life and in her writing. I can also tell that a lot of research goes into her writing. She sticks to the lore.

 

How important are names to you in your books? Do you choose the names based on liking the way it sounds or the meaning?

I think names mean everything, especially when the setting is at a certain point in time. I think sound is great, but sometimes meaning is quite important. It’s funny that you ask this because I am actually holding a poll for readers to choose the names of my main characters in my next book. I like seeing everyone else’s opinion.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

It’s probably ridiculous, but I see myself in a house I bought with my family, maybe another child or two we adopted. And I see myself with several books published and well known-maybe even a movie deal in the works. * crosses fingers *

 

Have you always liked to write?

Yes, I have actually been writing since I was 4. We joke about it all the time now, but I liked it so much that instead of doing boring journal prompts in kindergarten I would get in trouble for making up crazy stories about my grandfather being murdered or something!

 

What are you working on now? What is your next project?

I have a lot in the works for this year, but the next two that I have coming out are a part of two series. One is a stand alone romance where all the books will have the same setting. They are short and steamy, just the way some of my readers like it. The other is the first in an epic dystopian trilogy called Desert Runners. It pulls from things like Mad Max and Divergent and adds in some unique twists all its own.

 

If you were a super hero, what would your name be? What costume would you wear?

It would be Baby Doll. That was a nickname I was given when I was in high school. I’d like to think I’d have something similar to a Sailor Scout and look that good, but that might be another nerdy pipe dream 😉 .

 

What literary character is most like you?

I used to think it was Bella form Twilight, though I am not that adverse to rain and snow or to shopping. Now that I have read the Celestra series by Addison Moore, I think I found a better candidate; Skyla. She is the main character, and I swear it’s like reading my own feelings and thoughts.

 

Do you have any scars? What are they from?

I have my lovely C-section scar.

 

What do you dream? Do you have any recurring dreams/nightmares?

I have a LOT of strange dreams and nightmares, in particular. A lot of them revolve around being eaten by a monster or bitten by a snake. However, I have a few dreams that star one man, in particular, I’ve always wanted to talk to a dream expert about. It’s always set in modern times, yet the man’s chasing me, trying to find me to kill me. He looks like he just stepped out of the wild west. He had a handle bar mustache, a duster, and even the right kind of gun. I am always trying to escape him, and he always finds me.

 

Texas Roze

 

Title: Texas Roze

Author: Iris Sweetwater

Genre: Contemporary Romance (with some steamy scenes)

 

Book Blurb:

Roze had everything a 23-year-old girl should want; a great relationship with her zany mother, an amazing career where she got to meet some of the world’s top celebrities, a high-rise apartment in L.A., and a hot boyfriend. But Roze was bored with being the girl everyone was jealous of, and her opportunity to try her hand at being someone else came with the phone call from a lawyer telling her that her father had passed away; the father she had stopped visiting for some reason after she turned 12. He had left her his ranch in Texas to share ownership with her step brother who she hardly knew.

So, Roze did what any other woman would do in her predicament; pack up her life in the city and head to the ranch to find herself. Though, along the way, she may find a man…. or two, as well as the father she didn’t get the time to know.

 

Excerpt:

“I don’t know a lot about farming or animals, I have no problem admitting to that, but I do know some about business. I think we’re running a bad business right now.” Roze glanced sideways at Jake who leaned back in his seat looking amused while covering his smiling mouth.

 

“What makes you say that?” Todd asked, sitting up in his seat to pay closer attention now. Even if it was anger that got his attention, at least he would listen now.

 

“It doesn’t matter if you think we’ll have the money to afford more workers because we have to have them in order for this place to operate at its optimum level. If we lose animals or crops because we only have three people, and one is inexperienced, then there’s no point in worrying about profit – we will go under. We’ll disgrace Dad’s name.” She felt more confident now, holding her head high.

 

Todd looked like he was mulling it over while scrutinizing her new-found voice as Jake slapped his hand on the table with a chuckle. “Damn, she schooled you,” Jake joked, nudging Todd in a teasing manner. Todd didn’t look like he was in the mood. In fact, he was dangerously quiet for far too long. So, it shocked Roze to the core when he finally responded.

 

“I’ll call back two of the old workers tomorrow and see if they’ll take a temporarily reduced salary. I’ll also give you access to Dad’s office in the morning so you can take a look at the business side of things. In the meantime, I need you to pick two things that you want to work on every day until you become an expert. I am not going to be the only owner that works this land.” Todd narrowed his eyes at her as if he were her father giving an order, and even though he wasn’t of his blood, she could see his mannerisms in Todd now.

 

“Thank you,” she told him, nodding and then turning on her heel. She still needed a shower, and she didn’t want to outwear her welcome when she just made a big, important demand of Todd.

 

Heading back into her room, she realized that perhaps a bath would do her more good after the long day of work and went about gathering a towel and a robe for afterward. Then, she turned on the water to fill the large garden tub that had replaced the claw foot that had been in there when she was younger. She was noticing updates all over the house that had been an attempt to modernize it since she got there, and though she appreciated the ability to relax in the bathtub, she kind of missed the traditional piece of plumbing.

 

Just as she turned off the water and sprinkled some bath salts into the pool of liquid, a light knock came at her door. Roze looked at it in curiosity for a moment before going to it, wondering what either of the two men in the house would want with her.

 

When she opened it, she found Jake standing there, looking sheepish for the first time since she had met him. He had since put a shirt on, and in his hand, he held a makeshift bouquet of yellow and purple wildflowers. He’d obviously picked them outside.

 

“Hi,” he said with a goofy grin on his face. Roze realized that he was nervous about something.

 

“Are those for me?” she asked, pointing at the wildflowers in his strong hands.

 

Jake nodded.

 

“I know they aren’t much to look at compared to what you can get at a city shop, but it’s what I had.” Jake leaned into the doorway, and Roze leaned over to smell the flowers. They smelled beautiful and brought back instant memories of her childhood.

 

“They’re perfect,” she told him. “Did you want to come in and talk or something? Hang out?”

 

“Nah, I don’t want to keep you. I just wanted to come by and see you before I went back home and tell you that you were pretty kick ass down there.” They both laughed at that, and Roze began to feel like she might have an ally there after all. “I also kind of wanted to know if you would let me take you on a date this weekend. You know, now that you’ll have some of the workload off you.”

 

Roze was taken aback for a moment, not expecting Jake to ask her on a formal date. There was nothing holding her back since she had pretty much broke it off with her boyfriend back in L.A., but she hadn’t expected something so formal so quickly. Though, she found that she wanted to say yes.

 

“Sure, though I have no idea where we might go in such a small town.”

 

“Oh, don’t you worry about that,” he told her with another of his signature winks.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon (ebook and paperback): https://www.amazon.com/Texas-Roze-Iris-Sweetwater-ebook/dp/B06WVN6SLX/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1489008545&sr=8-1&keywords=Texas+Roze

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/705597

 

Author Biography:

Iris Sweetwater has been writing since she could hold a pencil. Starting with poetry, she was excited to be published in many anthologies at the age of 13. As an adult, she made a living for almost seven years as a ghostwriter, writing thousands of websites, romance novels , erotica, paranormal, and fantasy for small and large publishing companies. She has also taught public speaking and English to children ages 4-18.

 

Today, she is starting a writing career she hopes to be proud of and be successful with, actually getting credit for the work she does. She hopes to turn being an author into something that can support the family she loves so much and take it as far as possible. Regardless, she will continue to write and teach children because she is passionate about what she does.

 

Social Media Links:

Website/Blog: http://irissweetrh.wixsite.com/irissweet-author

Twitter: https://twitter.com/irisissweet1

FB: https://www.facebook.com/irisissweet1/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/irisissweet1/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16483514.Iris_Sweetwater

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/iris-sweetwater-810350133/

 

One thought on “Meet Iris Sweetwater @irisissweet1 and Sizzling Texas Roze #romance #amreading

Thoughts? Comments? I'd love to hear what's on your mind!

