The Temptation of Dragons by Chrys Cymri is Superb! #fantasy #bookreview #dragons


Penny-White-and-the-Temptation-of-Dragons 2

 

Title: The Temptation of Dragons

Author: Chrys Cymri

Genre: Fantasy, Dragons

 

Book Blurb:

Bishop Nigel smiled at me. ‘Holy water doesn’t harm vampires. Which is just as well, as it would make it impossible to baptise them.’

 

When I was asked by a dragon to give him the last rites, I never dreamed it would lead to negotiating with his cannibalistic family or running from snail sharks. Life as the priest of a small English village is quite tame in comparison. At least I have Morey, a gryphon with sarcasm management issues, to help me. And if all else fails, there’s always red wine and single malt whisky.

 

As if my life weren’t complicated enough, a darkly beautiful dragon named Raven keeps appearing where I least expect him, I’ve met a handsome police inspector who loves science fiction as much as I do, and my younger brother is getting into trouble for trying to pick up vampires.

 

That’s what happens when you’re dealing with an incredible and dangerous parallel world full of mythical creatures. And I have to learn to navigate it all without losing myself, or my brother…

 

My Review:

One of the most imaginative and unique fantasy books I’ve read in a long time.

 

Reverend Penny White is a priest in a small English village. Life as a priest is far from exciting, or so Penny thought. On her way home, she sees a car accident and ends up giving last rites to a very large dragon hidden in the shadows. Yes, a dragon. A chance encounter that changes Penny’s life forever.

Now, she’s dealing with adjusting to an alternative world (located ironically in Wales) and all of its paranormal inhabitants. Watching Doctor Who and Buffy the Vampire Slayer didn’t prepare her for this. Working full-time as a priest and part-time in Lloegyr, helping when needed. But when she meets Raven, brother to the dragon she gave last rites to, sparks fly in the most unusual way. Will Penny give into her feelings for Raven while keeping up with the two worlds she’s straddling or will she reject it all for the quiet village priest existence she craves?

 

In order to give this book justice, I must share the thoughts I had when reading:

 

“Wow, the worldbuilding is so superb, so descriptive, I want to live there and brush up on my Welsh.”

 

“The dialogue is classic British cosy fiction with modern cultural references (Doctor Who, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, twerking, Sherlock Holmes, etc.) and told from Penny’s viewpoint. BBC, if you’re reading this, pick up the rights to this literary series right away so millions of us can watch this on the telly. Oops, my British accent got the better of me.”

 

“The slow-burning attraction between Penny and Raven was addictive. I had to keep reading to find out what happened next.”

 

“Penny’s relationship with her associate, Morey (named after Moriarty from Sherlock Holmes), made me laugh out loud. He’s a riot and when he disappears, it’s Penny (and a lovable snail shark) who restores him to his sarcastic self.”

 

“Penny White is not your pious priest; she’s human like all of us and it’s her humanity that is at the heart of this story.”

 

If you’re a fan of fantasy with doses of humor, please don’t hesitate and pick up this book. You’ll be swept away by the mythical creatures (including dragons), humorous dialogue, adventure and one priest who’s always been intrigued by dragons. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!

 

Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author in the hopes I’d review it.

 

My Rating:  5+ stars

 

Buy it now:

Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Temptation-Dragons-Penny-White-Book-ebook/dp/B01DOGQ3HU

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29773163-the-temptation-of-dragons

 

chrys C

 

Author Biography:

Priest by day, writer at odd times of the day and night, I live with a small green parrot called Tilly because the upkeep for a dragon is beyond my current budget. Plus I’m responsible for making good any flame damage to church property. I love ‘Doctor Who’, landscape photography, single malt whisky, and my job, in no particular order. When I’m not looking after a small parish church in the Midlands (England) I like to go on far flung adventures to places like Peru, New Zealand, and North Korea.

 

Social Media Links:

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/chryscymri?fref=ts

 

Google+ https://plus.google.com/u/0/110523446882510437499

 

Tumblr http://chryscymri.tumblr.com/

 

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1076161.Chrys_Cymri

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

2 thoughts on “The Temptation of Dragons by Chrys Cymri is Superb! #fantasy #bookreview #dragons

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

