An Ominous Book by Nancy Foster @drafoxter #bookreview #fantasy #FridayReads


An Ominous Book

 

Title: An Ominous Book (An Ominous Book series, book 1)

Author: Nancy Foster

Genre: Fantasy, Epic Fantasy, Young Adult

 

Book Blurb:

Lord Spaulding’s life seemed perfect. The elusive mortal elf rules the Kasimma Clan and lives in the quaint but pleasant city of Tesafar. His perfectly stable life has ended up in haywire when his best friend Trevilin left two unwanted guests at his doorstep one autumn day: two orphan children from a disgraced noble family that just happen to be his long-lost blood relatives named Richard and Nelida Earlrose.

 

Spaulding must now find the way to bring these two children back to their nation and along the way, destroy a dangerous piece of sorcery that is hidden in his castle before King Salman and the Äimite guard find out.

 

My Review:

This book was a rollicking, fun, good time that is made for kids of all ages to enjoy!

 

You have elves, castles, magic, sword fights, magical beasts, criminals, danger, laughter, fun and adventure.  This would make an exceptional movie series or television show.  There is no bullying of the children and the fun tends to outweigh anxious parts, for the most part.

 

My favorite scene is the rescue of Richard from the criminals.  It is brilliant and I read it twice!  Just fantastic how the Water Sage used the sword to wipe out the criminals.

 

I didn’t care for Froylan or King Salman, for the most part.  The end of the book lost me.  I can’t comprehend how ******* (bleeped character name to avoid spoliers) becomes the most powerful witch/warlock and can destroy everything.  I didn’t enjoy the ending and that took this book from 5 stars to 4 stars.  Still, a fun read overall.

 

 

My Rating:  4 stars

 

Buy it now:

Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Ominous-Book-book-ebook/dp/B01M0BZF0E

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32478959-an-ominous-book

 

Author Biography:

I’m probably an oddball among authors because I never studied a liberal arts degree. I never gave writing any interest until I had an amusing concept for a YA fantasy book series and long story short, I started to write for fun. Before I knew it a little over a year later, I finished 6 novels of the series and have a 7th novel that remains half-finished.

When I’m not fighting with busted typewriters and filling out TPS reports, in my free time I go to weird places on vacation and love it!!! 😃

 

Social Media Links:

Blog http://anominousbook.blogspot.ca/

Twitter http://www.twitter.com/drafoxter

Amazon Author Page https://www.amazon.com/Nancy-Foster/e/B01MF8UFOK/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Goodreads Author Page https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16064085.Nancy_Foster

 

Reviewed by: Mr. N

One thought on “An Ominous Book by Nancy Foster @drafoxter #bookreview #fantasy #FridayReads

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

