Don’t Let Small Minds Dictate the Size of Your Dreams! #inspiration #WednesdayWisdom


dreams too big

 

Have you been told your dreams are too big?

I remember when I told my family I wanted to be a president when I was young. They patted me on the head and said, “That’s nice but you’ll need something to fall back on in case that doesn’t pan out.” Then they gave me some suggestions, which I won’t bother to repeat.

When I told MR N my dream of becoming a published author, his first response surprised me.

“Then let’s make it happen.”

No trying to talk me out of it, no patting on the head, no rolling of the eyes. Encouragement and support.

Listen, I’m a firm believer in having big dreams. The bigger, the better. Why so big? The greater the dream, the sweeter the victory of making my dream come true. It doesn’t matter to me anymore what people think of my dreams. It’s not their dream, it’s mine!

There’ll be small minds who’ll try to talk you out of your dreams. Don’t let them! They have a narrow perception and can’t see the future like you can.

What are some of your grand dreams?

Pack a bag and go after your dreams. Ignore the naysayers and if you can muster, pity them. I pity the fools who have small dreams, for they never know what it’s like to fly high and live amongst the clouds.

MRS N

7 thoughts on “Don’t Let Small Minds Dictate the Size of Your Dreams! #inspiration #WednesdayWisdom

  1. Now I wonder why the ‘smaller minds’ tend to have the loudest voices. I get a lot of suggestions as to other career paths if being an author ‘goes nowhere’. The funny thing is that people make a suggestion, but don’t add anything that explains how you would get onto that path. For example, I’m always told to go into teaching or become a librarian. This requires going back to college, which is money I don’t have. If I ask how to get over that hurdle, I get shrugs. So it’s really no help whatsoever and only makes me feel like I have no support. People really don’t understand artists and how to support them most days.

    Like

    1. Yes, I agree that small minds are the loudest voices. Heaven forbid you bring logic into the conversation. lol! Good for you, Charles!

      “People really don’t understand artists and how to support them most days.” — Truest statement I’ve read in years.

      Like

      1. I feel like I have to utter that statement once a month for the last 5 years. It’s amazing how people think you can just sit down, crank out most of a book, and wander off with nothing else to it.

        I shall keep bringing logic to the fight. One of these days it will work.

        Like

  2. Superb post my angel. I see the world in you and know you can reach it if you try. I too faced that with statements from concerned people about changing careers later in life. I ignored the naysayers and now have been a retired Chef for over 6 years and a professional numismatist for over 5 years. You can do what you want if you have the courage to try.

    Like

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

