Are You Living a Fake Life? If so, Step Into the Truth; it’s More Fun! #inspiration


fake it

Are you leading a fake life, whether in person on online?

I read an article this morning about the prevalence of fake lives. I don’t mean people living two lives (due to infidelity or what have you) but people creating a whole new life in order to appear … well … better/happier/successful. It’s happening more and more in the blogging community. One mommy blogger confessed all back in 2016 and it made all the news circuits. Here’s her story:

http://nypost.com/2016/05/29/my-mommy-blog-ruined-my-life/

Do you know my first reaction to her story? Utter sadness. I mean, how much effort it took for her to create this “perfect happiness” when her own life was crumbling around her.

As authors/artists/creative folks, there’s an urge to create a fake life to go along with the author/blogger moniker. I mean, words are my talent so why not use words to create an ideal life to go along with the name N. N. Light?

Authenticity.

When I started this blog back in 2012, I hadn’t a clue what to talk about. I had zero followers and was basically talking to myself. So, I asked MR N what to talk about.

His response: talk as if the world is listening.

Pretty profound, eh?

From the start, I’ve been 100% me on this blog and with every inspirational thought, I shared a part of myself with the world. The more I shared, the more followers I gained (thank you from the bottom of my heart) and the more excited I was to blog. I shared life’s ups and downs and tried to be as positive as possible. My words became more than just words; they empowered people.

The world is listening and wants you to be truthful. Granted, it can be scary and fearful to live in truth. There’ll be people who won’t agree with you, will want to slam you and make you feel miserable. Live in truth and be honest. Whatever you’re going through, if you share your feelings online, you might just be helping someone else going through the exact thing.

Bloggers, I urge you to be yourselves. Share your heartbreak, frustrations, failures as well as the positive stuff, too. You’ll be much happier and at peace, without having all that extra stress about keeping your stories straight. Plus, it’s a lot more fun living an authentic life, both online and in person. 

MRS N

4 thoughts on “Are You Living a Fake Life? If so, Step Into the Truth; it’s More Fun! #inspiration

  1. I created a fake life when I was in college because I was bullied in high school and wanted to escape that in my future. It lasted till a few “friends” called home. I’ve learned since then to like myself, no matter my status in life. Escaping only buries you in guilt. My blog is pure me as well, the ups, the downs.

    Like

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

