Stop Listening to What Others Think and Embrace Your Inner Superhero! #inspiration


Self image superboy

 

Are you depending too much on what others think?

I’ll be the first to admit that I put too much emphasis on what others think. Whether it’s in my personal or professional life, my weakness is to value my self-worth on how people view me. I know, I know, I should listen to my own advice and not worry about what people think. But it’s hard to do when my inner voice amplifies popular opinion.

I’m writing the sequel to Princess of the Light and almost every day, my inner voice yells negative thoughts.

“This is crap. You’re a talentless hack and no one will bother to read this.”

“Why are you wasting your time on this story? It doesn’t sell and no one cares.”

“You’re not a writer so why not quit?”

On and on the slew of comments go. I close my eyes and will the voice to be silent. It quiets down eventually and then my muse speaks.

“You’re blessed with the ability to move readers. Use your gift for good.”

“A lot of people are drawn to you and your words matter.”

“Share Mary’s story and if one person reads it, it’ll be worth it.”

At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter what others think of myself or my work. What matters is how I feel about it. I love myself and I know that I’m a good person. I may be shy and insecure at times but so was Buffy the Vampire Slayer (my superhero). When I embrace my inner Buffy, all negative thoughts flee before they can be slayed. 😉

What others think of you doesn’t matter but what you feel about yourself is what’s important! Embrace your inner superhero and defeat those negative thoughts!

MRS N

7 thoughts on “Stop Listening to What Others Think and Embrace Your Inner Superhero! #inspiration

  1. It’s interesting how we’re raised to not take what others say to heart and be our own people. Yet, as adults, we’re told to consider others and listen to what they have to say. This happens a lot with family and doesn’t seem to work out too well. At the very least, it rarely seems to match up.

    Love the picture.

    Like

    1. What you said is true, Charles. I never thought much about it. Being an insecure kid, I always listened to the bullies and thought I was ugly. It took many years for me to erase how I saw myself. Ah yes, family… they don’t take too well to standing up for ourselves. Yes, I love the pic, too. 😉

      Like

      1. Same here. I listened to the wrong people up until high school. After that, I realized some of the most judgmental people are closer to home and harder to avoid. Its just amazing how that turns out too because I know others in that situation. Mostly artists.

        Like

  2. As always, these positive comments come at just the right time! I think we are hardest on ourselves and when we’re on the right track, the “deceiver” tells us we’re not any good.

    Like

  3. Thank you!! This comes right at the time when i’ve just been kicked in the teeth by negativity and self-doubt (I have a post scheduled for Sunday on my blog about it). This was just the boost I needed today!

    Like

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

