The Marriage of Gryphons (Penny White 3) by Chrys Cymri #urbanfantasy #dragons #books


Penny White and the Marriage of Gryphons ebook

 

Title: The Marriage of Gryphons (Penny White 3)

 

Author: Chrys Cymri

 

Genre: Urban Fantasy

 

Book Blurb:

A blast of wind flicked hair from my face. Long toes wrapped around my waist, claws prickling through fur and clothing as I was snatched from the ground. The dragon lifted me high into the grey skies above Llundain. Of the many words going through my head, Oh, bother, was the only one worthy of a priest. 

 

When I’d discovered the existence of Daear, Earth’s magical parallel world, I thought all of my dreams had come true. Riding the handsome dragon, Raven, arguing with my gryphon Associate, Morey, and raising Clyde, a mischievous snail shark, lessen the monotony of my life as the priest of a small village church. And I’ve also met Peter, a man who agrees with me that Doctor Who and single malt whisky are proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.

But Raven has gone missing, and finding him would mean a hazardous trip to the Arctic. Morey’s attempts to prove himself worthy of marriage to his love, Taryn, are putting all of us in danger, particularly my younger brother, James. Can I keep those I love safe in a world which has little love for humans?

 

Penny White books

 

Worldwide Giveaway:

Chrys Cymri is running a worldwide giveaway of the three Penny White novels (as e-books). Sign up to her email list, making sure you mention this blog (POTL or N. N. Light), and you’ll be entered into the competition. The giveaway ends on 31 May 2017. Got to http://chryscymri.com/newsletter.html  to enter.

 

Excerpt:

I was distracted from Morey’s answer as I noticed something glinting against the blue sky. My sunglasses were steaming slightly, and I rubbed my glove over the lenses. The tumbling object was small, oblong, and grey-brown. And I clearly heard a tenor voice sing out, ‘Geronimo!’

 

My mouth dried. ‘Morey, it’s Clyde!’ Though why he was channelling the Eleventh Doctor was beyond me.

 

But the gryphon was already tearing at my coat. He forced his way out, claws catching against the fur as he launched himself upwards. ‘Nattoralik, nattoralik, nattoralik!’ the lemmings squealed, tumbling over and around each other as they scurried away from me. The word wasn’t in any language I recognised, but the terror was obvious.

 

‘Gryphon,’ I snapped at them, a different fear making my heart pound. ‘And that’s a malwen siarc, if you really want to know.’

 

Malwen siarc,’ the lemmings echoed. ‘Malwen siarc, malwen siarc.

 

Morey had placed himself below Clyde, and his wings pounded as he turned upside down. My hands curled inside my gloves. The gryphon might be several times larger than the snail, but Clyde was heavy for his size. The impact would surely drive both of them to the ground. Would Morey’s brave rescue attempt end up with both of my friends dead?

 

The lemmings swarmed away from me. Both groups pulled together, forming one large mass, piling on top of each other into a furry pile. Clyde smacked into Morey’s chest. The gryphon’s claws scrabbled at the shell, trying to get a grip as he fought to right himself. His wings were beating furiously at the air, but he was losing altitude rapidly. I could feel a scream rising in my throat.

 

Movement from the lemmings dragged my gaze down again. A few of the rodents perched on the backs of the others, issuing squeaks which adjusted the position of the group. I just had enough time to realise what they were doing when Morey and Clyde smacked into their midst.

 

There were squeals and snow flurried up around the mix of white, purple, and grey. I hurried over as fast as snowshoes would allow. A stream of Welsh curses eased some of the tension in my chest, making me realise that Morey, at least, was alive. ‘Clyde?’

 

‘Sure, ask after the kid.’ Lemmings pulled away to reveal Morey, staggering slightly on the dug up snow.

 

‘I could hear that you’re okay.’ The lemmings surrounded the snail, and I feared the worst. ‘Clyde?’

 

Multiple small bodies churned. And Clyde was raised up from their midst. The snail was perched on several backs like a footballer who had kicked in the winning goal. ‘Arweinydd mawr, arweinydd mawr, arweinydd mawr.’ The lemmings spoke in an awed whisper. ‘Arweinydd mawr, arweinydd mawr, arweinydd mawr.

 

‘Great leader’? I watched as Clyde glanced around him. He extended his body to full length, and his jaws cracked open as he smiled at the lemmings. Much to my surprise, this excited rather than terrified them.

 

Universal Links for all three Penny White books:

https://myBook.to/TemptationofDragons

 

https://myBook.to/CultofUnicorns

 

https://myBook.to/MarriageofGryphons

 

chrys C

 

Author Biography:

Priest by day, writer at odd times of the day and night, I live with a small green parrot called Tilly because the upkeep for a dragon is beyond my current budget. Plus I’m responsible for making good any flame damage to church property. I love ‘Doctor Who’, landscape photography, single malt whisky, and my job, in no particular order. When I’m not looking after a small parish church in the Midlands (England) I like to go on far flung adventures to places like Peru, New Zealand, the Arctic, and North Korea.

 

Social Media Links:

https://www.facebook.com/chryscymri?fref=ts

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1076161.Chrys_Cymri

https://uk.pinterest.com/chryscymri/

http://chryscymri.tumblr.com/

https://plus.google.com/u/0/+ChrysCymri

 

My website:  www.chryscymri.com

 

Direct link to sign up to email list: http://chryscymri.com/newsletter.html

 

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

