Cherish Those You Love for They May Not Be With You Tomorrow #love #MondayBlogs #dad


Daddy and me

 

So, so you think you can tell Heaven from Hell, blue skies from pain.

Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail?

A smile from a veil?

Do you think you can tell?

Did they get you to trade your heroes for ghosts?

Hot ashes for trees?

Hot air for a cool breeze?

Cold comfort for change?

Did you exchange a walk on part in the war for a lead role in a cage?

How I wish, how I wish you were here.

We’re just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year,

Running over the same old ground.

What have we found?

The same old fears.

Wish you were here.

Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd

Nineteen years ago today, my dad died. He was run over by a truck on a dark, cold street. In one moment, my life changed and I’ve never been the same. The grief still burns in my soul and I wish with every ounce of my being that I had a chance to say good-bye. So, I do the next best thing: I live each day to the fullest and spread love wherever I go.

Life is short, too short in my opinion, and you never know when you’ll loved ones will be gone.

My father taught me many lessons but the biggest one he taught me is to love everyone, no matter who they are or where they’ve come from. He taught me the importance of forgiveness and loving your enemies. But it’s his death that taught me the importance of saying, “I love you.”

This Pink Floyd song is one of our songs and he loved singing it to me. Why this song? For this stanza:

We’re just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year,

Running over the same old ground.

What have we found?

The same old fears.

Wish you were here.

I wish you were here, Dad. I’d give you a hug and tell you one last time how much I love you!

Today, call/write/email/text/emoji your loved one and tell them those three magical words:

I love you!

MRS N

2 thoughts on “Cherish Those You Love for They May Not Be With You Tomorrow #love #MondayBlogs #dad

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

