How’s Your Love Life? Learn to Love Imperfection … #TuesdayMotivation #love #inspiration


love-imperfection

 

How’s your love life?

Are you waiting for the perfect person to come along or are you loving an imperfect person perfectly?

This is the question I offer you to ponder today.

It took me a long time to realize that the key to love, real love, is in loving a person wholly and completely. When I was growing up, my family and society taught me I should wait for Mr. Right. He’d be my Prince Charming and he’d be perfect in every way. He’d be athletic, strong, caring, thoughtful, treat me like a princess… you get the point.

As I grew older, I realized the world was full of wannabe princes who, in turn, treated me like crap. They judged me based on a set of certain criteria in their own deluded minds and my heart got broken, a lot. I became jaded and my fairy tale ideal slipped from my grasp.

Then I met MR N. He displayed all the attributes of Prince Charming but because I was a wounded princess by this time, I didn’t believe it. I tugged and tugged at his appearance, to peel away the fake prince to discover the wickedness underneath. Only there wasn’t any bad count, only my long-awaited prince.

But my story doesn’t end there, like it does for many fairy tales. I still was a wounded princess, trying to figure out this whole unconditional love thing. I wasn’t used to it and it wasn’t until MR N made a vow to me, that I finally understood what love entailed.

“You have always been an angel,

I’ve known it from the start.

You’ve always been my princess,

You hold my soul and heart.

Darling, you are the princess,

The princess of the light.

I always knew that too,

My love for you is so right.”

©2017 N. N. Light, All rights reserved

Fourteen years later, MR N has kept his vow each and every day. He loves me, all of me, even the little things. Even though I’m imperfect, to him, I am perfect. The perfect wife, soulmate, life partner, business partner, best friend, lover and so much more.

Through his perfect, undying, unconditional love, I love him the same. Even though he’s human (like me), I don’t see it. I love him wholly and completely.

We come to love not by finding a perfect person, but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly.

Learn to love imperfection and your outlook will change for the better.

MRS N

Note: I should mention that when I say imperfection, I don’t mean condoning abusive behaviour or anything illegal. If someone you love is abusive, violent and/or criminal, seek help. You can still love them, but from a safe distance.

9 thoughts on “How’s Your Love Life? Learn to Love Imperfection … #TuesdayMotivation #love #inspiration

    1. Thank you, Louise, for your kind thoughts. I’m so glad my words (and MR N’s vow) touched you. Love is pretty simple when you break it down. I came from a family where there was a lot of expectations for marrying the “right” person and outward appearances. Imperfections weren’t allowed. If you didn’t fit the mold, there was harsh judgement. But in reality, we all have imperfections. It’s what makes us who we are and we must learn to love imperfections perfectly. 🙂

      Have a beautiful day!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations, Mrs. N — actually to the both of you. I couldn’t agree with you more, nor could I have said it any better. Much, MUCH happiness, you two…

    Like

  2. I’m so happy for you both. 💙 I commend you for your final note about abuse.
    My MR loves me unconditionally as I love him too. But even after 15years of our health relationship, I struggle with the concept of what love should look like. Because I grew up in an abusive environment of toxic love. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your comment, Lorraine. I know you struggle with love and while it’s understandable, trust in your beloved’s love and bask in the safety of it.

      Yes, I felt I needed to touch on abusive relationships. It needs to be said that if someone tells you they love you one minutes and verbally/emotionally/physically abuses you the next, THAT is not love. Ever since I was thirteen, I have volunteered at women’s shelters and advocated for domestic violence to stop. One day, I believe we’ll live in a society free of abuse. Until that day comes, I will champion women and children to seek sanctuary from their abusers.

      ❤ MRS N

      Liked by 1 person

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

