Towers of Earth by @jcconwaywriter is a Brilliant #Technothriller! #scifi #bookreview #SFF


Towers-Of-Earth

 

Title: Towers of Earth

Author: J. C. Conway

Genre: Science Fiction, Technothriller, Cyberpunk

 

Book Blurb:

At the brink of an impending dark age, 15-year-old Allison Taylor escapes Earth on a colony ship to the stars. But a catastrophic quark drive failure forces a desperate, near-light-speed return a millennium into Earth’s future. Allison is surprised to find humanity in a “New Renaissance” and to see the Great Geostationary Towers her father engineered still stretching majestically from ground to high orbit, now housing Earth’s billions.

 

When Allison learns the “New Renaissance” is a mere façade, she struggles against crushing odds to reunite with her fellow colonists. Finally gaining the opportunity to flee again, she realizes her special knowledge of the Towers may empower her to break the Tower Administrators’ tyranny—but at the cost of her means of escape. Allison is torn. Will fulfilling her father’s dream be worth abandoning her chance to finally reach the stars?

 

My Review:

Earth is on the brink of a dark age so teenager Allison and others flee on a spaceship. She leaves everything behind and starts a new life amongst the colonists. Life is going pretty great for Allison, that is until the spaceship’s drive fails and they return to Earth 1,000 years in the future. Much has changed on Earth and Allison isn’t sure if it’s for the better. It feels more like a prison but her knowledge of her father’s geostationary towers gives her power she’s never dealt with before. Can she use this new-found power to help her fellow colonists escape oppression or should she escape to pursue her own dreams to traveling throughout space?

 

Towers of Earth is an absorbing science fiction thriller that I loved. First of all, I connected with Allison right away. She’s a strong, adventurous female lead in what is mainly a male-dominated genre. She’s fully fleshed out and at times felt so real to me, I swear I experienced everything she did. Conway is a master storyteller when it comes to describing not only the action but the science technology. The suspense kept me turning the pages and I even gasped a few times. There are a few spots in the plot that could’ve been trimmed, due to length, but overall, a compelling read. Yes, it’s technically young adult with undertones of dystopia but honestly, I didn’t notice. I was that caught up in the story.

 

Fans of Tom Clancy, B. V. Larson, L. Ron Hubbard and Star Trek will love this book.

 

Favorite Character/Quote: Allison. I connected with her instantly and while she’s female, that didn’t detract from the story. It was refreshing to have such a strong female main character in Hard Science Fiction.

 

My Rating: 4.5 stars

 

Buy it now:

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Towers-Earth-J-C-Conway-ebook/dp/B06XDBN6Q7

 

Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/Towers-Earth-J-C-Conway-ebook/dp/B06XDBN6Q7

 

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Towers-Earth-J-C-Conway-ebook/dp/B06XDBN6Q7

 

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34459124-towers-of-earth

 

j c conway

 

Author Biography:

J.C. Conway is a romance, science fiction and fantasy author, writing novels and short stories for adults, young adults and teens. He is also a complex litigation attorney, teacher, active supporter of community groups and projects, and an advocate for mental health.
His recent novel, Towers of Earth, is a science-fiction adventure set one thousand years in the future, about a colony mission that suffers a catastrophic failure in interstellar space. The story features 15-year-old Allison Taylor and the colonists desperate efforts to resume their mission against mounting odds both technical and personal.
Hearts in Ruin is J. C. Conway’s debut novel, inspired by a combination of his interest in Paleolithic archaeology and his understanding of deep-seated conflict in academic and post-academic settings. His short stories have appeared in many magazines and online publications. Two of his short stories appear this summer in The Colored Lens and Comets & Criminals. Links to other stories in romance, science fiction and fantasy can be found at his website.
J.C. Conway has been an avid storyteller for as long as he remembers. His writing passion began with a grade-school assignment to write anything he liked, which, at the time, included dinosaurs, robots, army heroes and alien invaders. Since then he’s added simmering passion, tense internal conflict and emotional dilemmas. To learn more, visit his website at http://jcconway.com, his Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/J.C.Conway.W…, or follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/jcconwaywriter. Also feel free to visit http://HeartsInRuin.com, the website dedicated to his debut novel.

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

 

Advertisements

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s