TAG: Rapid Fire Books (Mrs. N Talks #books) #bookbloggers #amreading #IARTG #ASMSG


Rapid Fire Book Tag

 

Many thanks to this-is-my-truth-now for posting this tag and encouraging me to give it a chance. Please check out Jay’s blog, for he is a prolific reader/reviewer and a writer, too. He loves books and is so friendly. I highly recommend his blog. This one is the Rapid Fire Book Tag and it was originally created by GirlReading over Youtube, so be sure to stop by and check her out HERE.

 

Question 1: E-Book or Physical Book?

Call me old school, but I still love reading physical books. I read e-books professionally and for pleasure because, well, they’re free or 99 cents. But if I have a choice, I will always choose to read a physical book. There’s something primitive about holding a book in your hands and smelling the paper. Yes, I confess, I’m a total book sniffer.

 

Question 2 : Paperback or Hardback?

Hardback. Why? Honestly, they hold up better. I’ve been known to break book spines through reading a book repeatedly and the paperbacks don’t hold up like they used to.

 

Question 3 : Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

I will always love in-store book shopping better than online shopping. Again, it’s about the experience of browsing for books. It’s not the same browsing online. But with all the book shops closed in our corner of the world, I don’t have the luxury of spending hours in a book store. It’s a shame, really, when you think about it. I keep hoping Amazon will start opening book stores in Canada soon.

 

Question 4 : Trilogies or Series?

I’m a fan of series more so than trilogies. If I like a particular series, I never want it to end. I want it to go on forever, especially if the writing is good.

 

Question 5 : Heroes or Villains?

Call me cute but I love the villain. I love seeing just how badass he/she can be.

 

Question 6 : A book you want everyone to read?

You mean besides Princess of the Light? Lol! Just kidding…

Hmm, I think I everyone should read The Four Loves by C. S. Lewis. It’s a beautiful examination of the four different kinds of love: empathy, friend, romantic, spiritual. I’ve read it several times and each time, I glean new insight.

 

Question 7 : Recommend an underrated book?

Rise of the Prince (Pearseus #1) by Nicholas C. Rossis. A fantasy gem that is ground-breaking and will be a classic twenty years from now.

 

Question 8 : The last book you finished?

Rolf’s Quest by Aubrey Wynne. Review to come tomorrow.

 

Question 9 :The Last Book(s) You Bought?

Physical book – A Harlequin Intrigue book (can’t remember the title)

E-Book –  Resisting Nick: New Zealand friends to lovers sexy reunion romance (Wicked in Wellington Book 3) by Kris Pearson

 

Question 10 : Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

A candy bar wrapper, Snickers. Chocolate and reading go hand in hand.

 

Question 11 : Used Books: Yes or No?

Yes! I love used books and have discovered many new-to-me authors through used book stores.

 

Question 12 : Top Three Favorite Genres?

Historical Romance

Romantic Comedy

Romantic Suspense

 

Question 13 : Borrow or Buy?

Always buy. I’ve only ever borrowed physical books from the library.

 

Question 14 : Characters or Plot?

Characters will always drive the plot. For me, the plot can be similar from book to book but the characters are what makes each book unique.

 

Question 15 : Long or Short Books?

I used to love long books but as my free time gets shorter and shorter, I prefer short or shorter books.

 

Question 16 : Long or Short Chapters?

A chapter’s length doesn’t really matter to me. Long, short and in between… all that matters is that they break at the appropriate time. Nothing gets me madder than the chapter ending in the middle of scene.

 

Question 17 : Name The First Three Books You Think Of…

One, Two, Buckle My Shoe by Agatha Christie

Only a Hero Will Do by Alanna Lucas (need to write up a review)

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle (umm, don’t ask – tummy rumbles)

 

Question 18 : Books That Makes You Laugh or Cry?

Laugh – Shopaholic series, anything by D. E. Haggerty, Julie Kent

Cry – The Du Lac Devil by Mary Anne Yarde, The Time Travellers Wife, 18 Reasons

 

Question 19 : Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Fictional Worlds, hands down. Today’s world is so violent and filled with hate so I escape through fiction.

 

Question 20 : Audiobooks: Yes or No?

Not really. I used to do audiobooks when I commuted to work but since I work from home now, I much prefer to read than listen.

 

Question 21 : Do You Ever Judge a Book by its Cover?

You bet! I love book covers and have bought books based on the cover alone. Sometimes it comes back to bite me in the bum but I can’t resist a cover that whets my appetite.

 

Question 22 : Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

Either one. As a rule, the adaptations are far inferior to reading the book. Inevitably, scenes and characters get cut and it’s a shame.

 

Question 23 : A Movie or TV-Show You Preferred to its Book?

Pride and Prejudice (BBC adaptation with Colin Firth and Jennifer Erle)

 

Question 24 : Series or Standalone?

I much-prefer standalone. I’m a voracious reader and I love entering a new world with each book. Occasionally, I enjoy a series but as a rule, I prefer standalones. I like the trend right now of standalones with returning characters. It’s the blend of the two and I love it.

 

I’m not going to tag anyone but if you feel like it, please take a few moments and answer the questions. Book bloggers, authors, reviewers, c’mon and take part!  I had a blast with it. Of course, as many of you know, I love talking about books and reading. 😊

 

3 thoughts on “TAG: Rapid Fire Books (Mrs. N Talks #books) #bookbloggers #amreading #IARTG #ASMSG

    1. Thanks Jacquie! 🙂 Whenever we go on vacation, we always try to pop into a few bookstores. Bringing home our new books is always tricky as the suitcase is overflowing by the time we’re coming home. lol!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi. I’m glad you chose this tag, as it makes it easier to get to know you. I’m with you on the chocolate and books; they go hand-in-hand in my world. As for your note about authors ending a chapter in the middle of a scene, it is deplorable! LOL I can’t understand how an editor lets it go out the door in such a way. The end of a chapter is the end of a scene. It’s not like a TV show where you have to wait another week before seeing the conclusion. You can simply turn the page. Wow! Maybe they didn’t realize that. LOL

    Like

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

