“I’m 15 years from 100 But Why Not?” #Inspiration from a Grandfather! #ThursdayThoughts


Dreams

 

Think you’re too old to go after a dream or try something new? 

 

Pshaw! You’re never too old!

 

I had a lovely conversation with my grandfather yesterday. He just turned 85 and we were catching up. He told me all about his weekly men’s prayer group. He’s the leader of it but when he was asked to lead the group, he wasn’t sure he was right for the job.

 

“I sat down, made up a list of the reasons not to do it then threw it away. I’m fifteen years away from turning 100. I’m too old,” he said. “But then I thought, why not try it? It’s close by and I love to teach. The men are great and we meet at IHOP. So, it’s good food and good company.”

 

“You’re never too old, Grandpa. Look at C. S. Lewis. He has this great quote.” Then I quoted the above quote. “Plus, you’ve always been a great teacher. It’s one of your gifts and you’re helping others. Just like you taught me.”

 

“That’s right! I might live to be 125.” He chuckled.

 

My grandfather has been an inspiration to me since I can remember. He taught me so much about life, love and working hard. He taught me how important it was to give back, to help those less fortunate. Sure, he wasn’t perfect and had his own flaws but that didn’t matter to me. He was my grandpa, he is my grandpa and when I turn 85, I hope I’m active like him.

 

Think you’re too old to go back to school, switch careers, travel, explore your dreams or start new ones? Take my grandpa’s advice and go for it. If he can do it, you can too. 

 

MRS N

4 thoughts on ““I’m 15 years from 100 But Why Not?” #Inspiration from a Grandfather! #ThursdayThoughts

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

