Golden Quill Award Finalist Protected by the Falcon by Erika M. Szabo @MultiGenreBooks #fantasy #books


SemifinalistProtected

 

Title

Protected by the Falcon, Book 1 of The Ancestors’ Secrets Series

 

Author

Erika M Szabo

 

Genre

Fantasy, alternate history, magical realism

 

Publisher

Golden Box Books Publishing

 

 

Book Blurb

Love, ancient tribal legends, secrets, time travel and magical powers collide in a compelling fantasy series, hailed “Original, Mystical and Unique.”

 

Morana waited centuries for the chance to reunite with her beloved Joland and gain the power to rule the ancient clan that still exist hidden among us with its strict hierarchy, deadly rules and traditions. Ilona doesn’t know that she was chosen to stop Morana’s evil plan. She doesn’t know about her heritage besides legends and rituals when begins to remember her mother’s instructions concealed as rhymes and is unaware that her pleasant life as a doctor is about to change and she will be thrown into a dangerous world filled with secrets. The discovery of her healing power and ability to freeze time is exciting and frightening. A sinister man appears, and Ilona connects his presence with the series of mysterious deaths around her. She has been in love with her unsuspecting best friend, but she’s drawn to the stranger that appears in her dream and confused by the sudden magnetic feeling.

 

“Erika has brought a new kind of fantasy story into the realm of fantasy fiction. The narrative is magnetic and entertaining.” ~seriousreading

 

 

Excerpt

I lit the sacred candles infused with herbs and then placed them in a silver candle holder on a small round table. The ancient wooden male and female figurines holding hands stood between the candles, with our delicately carved Turul bird with a crown on its head and a sword in its talons. The Falcon held widely stretched wings over the figurines as if protecting them.

 

The statues had been in my family for centuries, they were small, and had a deep, warm brown color. The rich, shiny brown hue came from the hot herbal tea Elza poured over the statues every morning, as my ancestors had done for generations. Beside the statues was an ancient, dark leather-bound book. Its permanent place was on the Prayer table, and every Hun family had one. I had leafed through our book many times. The first few pages remained empty to me, but the rest of the book contained my ancestor’s names and achievements, written in ancient handwriting. Mom had said when I asked her about the empty pages, “The Book will reveal all its secrets to you, but only when you when you reach the age of maturity.” I wondered if I were ready; I was entering into Hun adulthood after all, so I made a mental note to check the book the next day, after prayer time.

Elza wrapped the ceremonial shawl over my shoulders as I took a deep breath and held my hands above the table. I began the prayer by reading the Hun writing, carved into the leather cover of the book of my ancestors. Following the ancient traditions, we prayed as a family in the morning to the First Mother and Father, and we prayed to the Creator at night, in solitude.

 

 

Mother and Father leading in unity,

 

Protected by the Turul for eternity,

 

Guide my soul and keep my body healthy.

 

Test my courage and try my patience,

 

Let me prove I have endurance.

 

Let compassion always guide me,

 

Make me wise to help the needy.

 

Challenge me on my daily journey,

 

And give me the strength to prove I’m worthy.

 

 

Closing my eyes, I held my hands in silence over the table for a minute and embraced the serene feeling I always had while saying the prayer. Warm energy flooded my insides, and I experienced a deep connection to something powerful, majestic and welcoming.

 

Buy Links

Flip-book introduction: http://online.flipbuilder.com/qvwg/wtom/

 

Universal eBook link: https://books2read.com/u/bP1xDd

 

Audio book: http://tinyurl.com/zghlcsr

 

Signed print: http://www.authorerikamszabo.com/store/c36/Book_Bargain.html

 

Erika M Szabo
Author Magazine

Author Biography

I became an avid reader at a very early age, thanks to my dad who introduced me to many great books. The writing bug bit me much later, on a rainy afternoon, when I couldn’t find any new book to read. My daughter had enough of my moping around and snapped at me, “Mom, stop whining! If you haven’t a book to read, then write one.” Her challenge shocked me, but I started playing with the idea and I’ve been writing stories, that I like to read, ever since.

 

Alternate history, romantic fantasy, magical realism novels as well as fun, educational, and bilingual books for children ages 2-14 about family, dream learning, siblings, friendship, and moral values such as accepting people with disabilities, dealing with bullies, and not judging others before getting to know them.

 

Social Media Links

Website: http://www.authorerikamszabo.com

 

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/Erika.M.Szabo.ND.Author

 

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/MultiGenreBooks

 

LINKEDIN: http://www.lnkd.in/N64qzw

 

GOOGLE: https://plus.google.com/112402888400847638099/

2 thoughts on “Golden Quill Award Finalist Protected by the Falcon by Erika M. Szabo @MultiGenreBooks #fantasy #books

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

