Yours Truly by @MisfitKJPierce is a Rollicking Good Read! #romanticcomedy #books #TWRP


 YoursTruly_w10475_750

 

Title: Yours Truly

Author: K.J. Pierce

Genre: Chick Lit / Romantic Comedy

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press/Mainstream General

 

Blurb:

Izzie Greene never wanted the limelight. As a caterer for Poe, the top-rated U.S. TV show, she had background player down pat. Her main focus was to spoil the cast and crew and fantasize about her celebrity crush, Scotsman Cardwell Bennett, while navigating the daily chaos.

Izzie’s professional life takes a sharp left turn when her ex-boyfriend unexpectedly arrives on set. Her personal life spirals into Hell when she runs afoul of an unethical paparazzo. Thrust into the public eye, her notoriety is fueled by equal measures of constant scrutiny, speculation, and half-truths. Her rumored romance with Cardwell further stokes the flames.

Held captive by the media, accident-prone Izzie struggles to keep her privacy, secrets, and sanity intact—not to mention her sense of humor. With help from her best friend Delly, her temperamental cat Edgar, and unexpected backup, Izzie might withstand the onslaught. And survive the season.

 

** Giveaway **

 

The winners have been drawn and they are:

 

Charmaine Gordon

Melissa Keir

Jennifer Wilck

 

Congratulations and keep an eye on your email for an email from the author.

 

 

Enter to win one of three copies of Yours Truly in either mobi or epub format.

 

To keep it super easy, entrants must visit and like K.J.’s  FB page (link below) and leave a comment below (PG-13 please) answering the following question:

 

What would you do if you had 30 minutes of uninterrupted alone time with your celebrity crush?

 

https://www.facebook.com/themisplacedmisfit/

 

 

Excerpt:

A certain fantasy played in my head, and I grinned. Cardwell’s childlike innocence gave way to confusion.

 

“Why are you grinning?”

 

The kopfkino ground to a halt right before the good part started. “Uh, A-Adriana.” I offered a silent thank you for the cover of darkness so he couldn’t see the flush creeping up. The stutter I couldn’t do anything about.

 

“Adriana? Whatever for?”

 

His voice relayed the look of confusion I could barely see, and I babbled to divert his attention. “Remember right after we started shooting, she droned on and on about how we should be filming in Baltimore because it’s a show about Poe—”

 

Cardwell offered his Vincent impersonation. “‘Five words, Adriana. Soundstage, b-roll, and tax breaks.’ Yeah, that was funny…”

 

I exhaled my relief, thinking I’d skirted his question.

 

“But it wasn’t that funny.” Cardwell shifted in his seat and faced me. “Tell me why you were really giggling.”

 

The flush heated to what felt like boiling point. I pressed my lips together to stop myself from blurting.

 

“Come on, Izzie.” He angled his head closer. “Distract me from the fact my nose feels like it’s about ready to fall off.”

 

The wink he shot me told me he was teasing, but my heart jumped to the pit of my stomach anyway. “Great. Play the injured card. Like I don’t feel bad enough already.”

 

He unbuckled his seat belt and swiveled to look at me, his grin stretching from ear to ear.

 

Shit. Who could say no to that? “Fine.” I hugged my arms to my chest. “You follow From Poe to Know, right?”

 

He slung his arm over the back of my seat. “Of course. Everyone does.”

 

I drummed a beat against my upper arm with my thumb, hoping I didn’t screw up and reveal my secret identity. “Well, a couple of weeks ago, she posed a question asking what people would do if they had thirty minutes alone with you.”

 

“Not one of her more inspired blogs, but some of the comments were…interesting.”

 

Cardwell’s reply sounded forced, and I wondered if his cheeks were burning as brightly as mine. “Yeah.” I thought back to the short drinking spree with Delly. “Point is, I now know what I’d do with my thirty minutes of alone time.”

 

“Oh, yeah?” He scooted closer to the edge of his seat, near enough for me to make out the corners of his mouth twitching. “What’s that?”

 

“I’d be driving. You’d be sleeping. How’s that for a fantasy?” I tore my eyes from his Medusa gaze. He wouldn’t turn me to stone, but if I kept looking at him, I’d still be doomed.

 

He tugged lightly on a curl that had come loose from my hair tie. “Wasn’t really what you were thinking, was it?”

 

“Nope.” My fingers toyed with the cracked, jagged edges of the steering wheel.

 

He leaned close. “You won’t tell me?”

 

The hair tie lost its fight, and my curls tumbled down my back. I shivered at his breath on my neck and shook my head. “Not a chance in hell.”

 

He grinned, his eyes sparkling in the glow of the streetlight. “Guess I’ll have to use my imagination, then.” He cracked open his door. “Come on, fantasy girl. Work calls.”

 

Buy Links:

The Wild Rose Press Website (E-Book): http://catalog.thewildrosepress.com/all-titles/4886-yours-truly.html

 

The Wild Rose Press Website (Print): http://catalog.thewildrosepress.com/paperback-books/4940-yours-truly-paperback.html

 

Amazon E-Book: https://www.amazon.com/Yours-Truly-K-J-Pierce-ebook/dp/B01NBSOXR4

 

Universal Amazon e-book link: myBook.to/YoursTruly

 

Amazon Book: https://www.amazon.com/Yours-Truly-K-J-Pierce/dp/1509212825

 

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/yours-truly-k-j-pierce/1126326413

 

BookStrand.com http://www.bookstrand.com/yours-truly-0

 

Kobo.com https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/yours-truly-15

 

KJP Author Photo 400x400 2

 

Author Biography:

K.J. Pierce is a jack of all trades. Her interests are varied enough to make this a requirement for a happy existence. Her main goal in life is to understand the human condition, which she explores through various mediums, including fiction, creative nonfiction, and scriptwriting. She sometimes succumbs to itchy-feet syndrome, a holdover from her Army Brat days. As a result, she can sometimes be found bouncing from locale to locale. She earned a BA in English Literature/Creative Writing from Agnes Scott College and a MLitt in The Gothic Imagination from the University of Stirling, Scotland. She puts them to good use by crafting stories that run the gamut in terms of genres, but which always include an exploration of the societal misfit and the darkness which pervades all facets of life, even in the most comic of circumstances.

 

K.J. currently lives on the east coast of Central Florida with her cat Dorian Gray, who lives up to his name by striving to be the state’s most prolific lizard serial killer. Yours Truly is her first novel.

 

 

Social Media Links:

Website/Blog: www.misplacedmisfit.com

Facebook Author Page: facebook.com/themisplacedmisfit

Twitter: @MisfitKJPierce

Amazon Author Page: amazon.com/author/kjpierce

 

 

14 thoughts on “Yours Truly by @MisfitKJPierce is a Rollicking Good Read! #romanticcomedy #books #TWRP

  1. Love the sound of the book–good luck! And oh my gosh, 30 minutes alone–do I really have to answer that? In all seriousness, I’d really want to sit down and talk with him, get to know the person behind the celebrity. And, you know, make plans for our second 30 minutes. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad someone’s confident about what she’d do – I talk a good game, but having met a few of my celebrity crushes (mostly musicians, not actors) I always end up incapable of stringing together a coherent sentence! 😀 Your reply does make me wonder how other countries view the American accent – I’m a complete goner (is that a word?) for German or Scottish accents!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This book is serious fun to my ears. And why you may ask? Because of the question at the end requested by Jennifer.
    Would you believe in my life I spent at least thirty minutes alone with Harrison Ford during a break in a movie and in another, Anthony Hopkins -call me Tony-asked me to dine with him during The Road to Welville. My acting days were amazing.
    Best to you. Keep writing your delightful stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Charmaine! 🙂 I’m *totally* jealous about your acting days! (and your having had 30 mins alone with both Harrison Ford *and* Anthony Hopkins! *melts into puddle*) I’d be totally on board with a memoir to read. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

