Her General in Gray by @LNightingale #ParanormalRomance #Giveaway #romance


HerGeneralinGray_w11068_750 (002)

 

Title – Her General in Gray

Author – Linda Nightingale

Genre – Paranormal Romance

Publisher – The Wild Rose Press

 

Book Blurb —

Autumn Hartley purchases Allen Hall at a steal, but the northern lass gets far more than a beautiful plantation in the South Carolina Low Country. The house comes complete with its own ghost, a handsome and charming Civil War General—for the Confederacy. The stage is set for another civil conflict.

 

John Sibley Allen died in battle from a wound in the back, the bullet fired by the turncoat, Beauregard Dudley. The traitor’s reincarnation is Autumn the Interloper’s first dinner guest. Sib bedevils her date and annoys her with fleeting, phantom touches, certain he can frighten her away as he did previous purchasers. As time marches on, her resident ghost becomes more appealing while her suitor, Beau, pales in comparison. Autumn finds her ability to love didn’t perish in the divorce that sent her south seeking a fresh start.

 

After over a century in the hereafter, Sib discovers he is falling for none other than the feisty Yankee girl, but what future could a modern woman and an old-fashioned ghost possibly hope for?

 

Giveaway –

Win a poster of Her General in Gray (US only)

 

To enter, answer the following question using the comment box below:

 

If you had a Civil War ghost living in your house, would you try to co-habitat with it like Autumn or would you cast him/her out?

 

Winner will be drawn on Tuesday, October 10th.

 

Excerpt —

Autumn climbed the stairs to the dusty attic.  No trepidation followed her. Since she’d moved into the house, she’d planned an excursion into its past.  For some reason, her irritating spook had been absent this morning.  She had to admit that she missed having her coffee poured and a nice good morning greeting when she forced her eyes open, but she was now on an adventure that she’d rather not share.

 

She rambled around, stirring up a cloud of centuries old dust, and in the corner she found a lovely old leather trunk with the brass lock open.  Cautiously because of its age, she lifted the top and gazed at a stack of women’s clothing, surprisingly intact.  With careful fingers, she lifted a beautiful dress and held it up to her. The billowed sleeves were short and a shawl collar finished the bodice.  Strings of pearls tucked the emerald overskirt over a beige embroidered underskirt.  If she weren’t afraid of damaging the garment, she was sure she could fit into it.  The full skirt would accommodate her hips and the tiny waist looked as if it would close around her. The romantic she chained deep inside warmed her. What would it have been like to have lived in that elegant time?

 

In an age of smart phones and tablets, she stood for a moment contemplating the past.  The temptation was almost too much for her, but she’d started to fold the dress back into its resting place when a hand landed on her shoulder.

 

Sib’s voice was soft and tender. “The dress belonged to my mother.  She wore it at a ball before the war.  It appears to be in passable condition. Why don’t you try it on?  I’ve imagined you so attired.”

 

“I’m a Northerner, remember? I’m surprised you offer your mother’s gown to me.” She turned, the green frock draped over her arm. “Where have you been anyway?”

 

“Here. All the time. I was simply playing along with your game of asking for my disappearance.”

 

She stiffened. “Don’t play games with me.  My mother used to do that. It was disturbing and hurtful to a child.”

 

“You reveal more of yourself every moment, and I’m enjoying getting to know you.  Very well, I’ll share something about me.  My father—what do you call it today?—cheated on my mother. More than once.. I’d hear her crying at night. Thus, I would have been true to my wife.” Eyes sad, he nodded at the dress.  “I’d like to see you in that, Autumn.  We are becoming friends. She would have approved.  I’ll assist with the buttons.”

 

“Turn your back. I’ll have to get undressed.” She motioned at him. “I’ve no desire for a ghost to see me in my bra and panties.”

 

He chuckled, his big grin enticing. “Such modesty. Actually, I was anticipating that view.  Anyway, I’ve seen you in your underwear before.”

 

“You Peeping Tom!” She accused, shaking a fist at him.  “Will I have no privacy? Do you follow me to the bathroom, too?”

 

“No, Ma’am.”  He shook his head, his hair moving in soft waves.  “I was simply in my bedroom when you changed into your nightgown.”

 

“It’s not your bedroom. This is my house, and don’t you forget it.” She glared at him.

 

He snapped a smart military salute. “Yes, commander.”

 

GeneralGray (002)

 

Buy Linkhttp://a.co/77kyvfc

 

Linda Nightingale

 

Author Biography —

Born in South Carolina, Linda has lived in England, Canada, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, Atlanta and Houston.  She’s seen a lot of this country from the windshield of a truck pulling a horse trailer, having bred, trained and showed Andalusian horses for many years.

 

 

Linda has won several writing awards, including the Georgia Romance Writers Magnolia Award and the SARA Merritt.  She retired from a career as a retired legal assistant, just joined the Houston BMW Club, and the stars in her crown—two wonderful sons. In a former life, she must have had to walk everywhere because today she is into transportation with fine taste in expensive horses and hot cars! She likes to dress up and host formal dinner parties.

 

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/LNightingale

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/LindaNightingaleAuthor

Web Site:  http://www.lindanightingale.com – Visit and look around. There’s a free continuing vampire story.

Blog:  https://lindanightingale.wordpress.com/ – Lots of interesting guests & prizes

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4839311.Linda_Nightingale

Pinterest:  https://www.pinterest.com/lbnightingale1/

Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/Linda-Nightingale/e/B005OSOJ0U

 

 

20 thoughts on “Her General in Gray by @LNightingale #ParanormalRomance #Giveaway #romance

  1. Congratulations Linda, fellow WRP author! This sounds like a delightful read, and the excerpt really drew me in. In answer to the question, if one had such a charming ghost Sib, how could one possibly want to cast him out! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Because I love the Charleston area and I am somewhat familiar with it, being a frequent visitor before I left SC, but then I never lived in Charleston. I’d want to live on the exquisite Battery and I don’t have the financial means!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Very good idea and resourceful! If he/she were friendly, I’d ask a million questions. I’ve never been too interested in the American Civil War, preferring to read about the English Civil War, but I now find myself writing another book set around that time period. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

Want to leave a comment? All you have to do is click below and comment.

